The Office of the Provost
University of Memphis Photo
Distinguished Teaching Award

The Distinguished Teaching Award is funded and sponsored by The University of Memphis Alumni Association. Four recipients of the award are selected by the Distinguished Teaching Award Committee, composed of past winners, from the twenty faculty receiving the most nominations. The selection process also includes assessment of the faculty member by his or her students and administrative head.

Posted November 17, 2006:

The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2006/2007 Distinguished Teaching Award.  Funded and sponsored by the University of Memphis Alumni Association, this award annually recognizes excellence in teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

The following UM faculty members have received sufficient nominations from faculty colleagues, alumni, and students to place among the top nominees for the 2006/2007 Distinguished Teaching Award.  They also have met the further eligibility requirements to become part of the group of finalists from which the four 2006/2007 Distinguished Teaching Awards recipients will be selected after further evaluation supervised by the Committee.  The Award will be presented to the four recipients at the Spring 2007 Faculty Convocation.

While only four faculty will receive the award, it is a great honor for the nominees listed below to have reached this stage in the process, and for this achievement they are to be congratulated.  Accordingly, we are publishing this list to bring them to your attention, and we trust that you too will want to recognize them.

2006/2007 Distinguished Teaching Award Finalists  

Lawrence J. Abbott, Accountancy

John Amis, Health and Sport Sciences/Management

Lawrette B. Axley, Nursing

Fernando Burgos, Foreign Languages and Literatures

Leigh Anne Duck, English

Jack Grubaugh, Biology

Sharon Horne, Counseling, Educational Psychology and Research

Dennis H. Laumann, History

Brad McAdon, English

Robert R. Marchini, Physics

Monika Nenon, Foreign Languages and Literatures

Albert Okunade, Economics

Robin Poston, Management Information Systems

John T. Ronan, English


Memo to Faculty of January 2005

Memo to Students of January 2005

Office of the Provost
The University of Memphis
360 Administration Building
Memphis, TN  38152-3370
901-678-2119 (phone)
901-678-3643 (fax)


Donate to the
Faudree University Professorships


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 1/23/12