The Office of the Provost
University of Memphis Photo
Honorary Degree Memo

Honorary Degree

The University of Memphis has the authority to award up to two honorary degrees each year to distinguished individuals who merit special recognition for extraordinary achievements that have improved the community they serve, contributed to society, as well as benefited the University of Memphis .

You are invited to nominate a person for his or her outstanding performance and to whom the University of Memphis can show its appreciation.  The guidelines for awarding honorary degrees are located at .  

In order to nominate a person please review the policy above and include the following:

1.   A letter of nomination, including:

  • a.  a summary of the distinguished contributions made by the nominee whose career reflects sustained, exceptional achievement in some field of scholarship, public service, or in an artistic, literary, governmental, financial, professional, research, leadership, cultural affairs, or other endeavor;
  • b.  the nominator's relationship with the candidate, and any perceived potential conflicts of interest;
  • c.  an indication of the extent to which the nominee has been associated with the University of Memphis.

2.    Any additional pertinent information.

After review of the nominees, the Honorary Degree Committee will solicit additional supporting materials including the nominee's vita and three letters of recommendation from within or outside of the university explaining why the candidate is worthy of further consideration for the award of an honorary degree from the University of Memphis.

All nomination information should be sent by November 19, 2014 to:

Honorary Degree Committee  

Office of the Provost

360 Administration Building

University of Memphis

Memphis , TN 38152

We look forward to receiving your nominations, and thank you for participating in this program to honor deserving recipients of these degrees.


Honorary Degree Award Past Recipients

Honey Scheidt and R. Brad Martin - 2014

Jim Ayers - 2013

Larry Papasan - 2012

Bert Bornblum - 2011

Maxine Smith - 2010

Robert Fogelman - 2009

Fred Smith - 2008

Rudi E. Scheidt - 2007

Harry W. Feinstone - 2006

Office of the Provost
The University of Memphis
360 Administration Building
Memphis, TN  38152-3370
901-678-2119 (phone)
901-678-3643 (fax)


Donate to the
Faudree University Professorships


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 9/26/14