The Office of the Provost
University of Memphis Photo
University Professorships

The Faudree, Atkins, and First Tennessee University Professorships

The University Professorships Program, a faculty rewards program designed to help the University retain its best and brightest faculty and to make an investment in people, presently includes three Professorships: The Faudree University Professorships, The Atkins University Professorships, and The First Tennessee University Professorships.

Full and associate tenured professors with ten (10) years of service at The University of Memphis are eligible for the program.  Awardees would hold University Professorships for a maximum of three years and would be ineligible for re-consideration for a minimum of three years following expiration of initial awards. Awardees would be allowed to use their allocations for salaries, travel, supplies or other expenses in any proportion they choose, as long as the total sum does not exceed the annual award amount. (The actual amount of the salary supplement and miscellaneous awards may vary slightly from year-to-year due to investment income results, but would usually be approximately $5,000 per year for full professors and $2,500 per year for associate professors).

Professorship Award Recipients


This FY we were unable to offer any new Faudree,
Atkins, or First Tennessee professorships.


Robert Kozma, Mathematical Sciences (First Tenn.); Carol Crown, Art (First Tenn.); Brian Janz, Management Information Systems (First Tenn.); Ralph Faudree, Provost (Faudree Professorship)


Marla Stafford, Marketing & Supply Management (First Tenn.); Gisele Goldstein, Mathematics (Faudree); Santosh Kumar, Computer Science (Faudree)


Rick Bloomer, Health and Sport Sciences (Faudree); Jonathan Judaken, History (Faudree); Ken Ward, Public Health (Faudree); David Appleby, Communication (Atkins)


Deborah Lowther, ICL (First Tenn.); Cary Holladay, English (First Tenn.); Pu-Qi Jiang, Music (Faudree)


David Allen, Management (First Tenn.); Emin Babakus, Marketing Supply Management (First Tenn.); Eugene Buder, AUDSLP (First Tenn.); Theodore Burkey, Chemistry (First Tenn.); Roy Van Arsdale, Earth Sciences (First Tenn.); Joan Schmelz, Physics (Faudree)


Albert Okunade, Economics (First Tenn.); Stanley Hyland, School of Urban Affairs & Public Policy (Faudree); Anna Kaminska, Mathematics (Faudree); Vivian Morris, Education (Faudree); Abby Parrill-Baker, Chemistry (Atkins)


David Evans, School of Music (First Tenn.); Allison Graham, Communication (First Tenn.); Monika Nenon, Foreign Languages (Faudree)


Gloria Baxter, Theatre & Dance (First Tenn.); Carl Halford, Electrical Engineering (First Tenn.); Don Franceschetti, Physics (Faudree)


Janann Sherman, History (Atkins); Leonard Lawlor, Philosophy (Faudree); Steven J. Ross, Communication (Faudree); Steven M. Ross, Counseling, Educational Psychology and Research (Faudree)


Office of the Provost
The University of Memphis
360 Administration Building
Memphis, TN  38152-3370
901-678-2119 (phone)
901-678-3643 (fax)

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2014 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 1/27/14