Psychology Diversity Committee

The University of Memphis Department of Psychology seeks to understand and address issues of culture, disability, ethnicity, gender, generation, sexual orientation, national origin, privilege, race, and different views on religion in education, policy, research, practice, recruitment, and retention of diverse populations. In this, it strives to offer resources that promote goals of cultural humility, mutual respect, and social justice at the level of the department, university, and broader community.

The Department of Psychology endorses the American Psychological Association's policies and recommendations regarding these diversity issues, as evident in the following sources:

The Psychology Diversity Committee is charged with organizing and promoting diversity initiates in the Department of Psychology. Three such initiatives include the Welcoming Diversity Forum, the Welcoming Diversity Colloquium Series, and the ALANA Psychology Group. In 2017, it also sponsored the I Am Psyched! National Tour Exhibit, which focused on women of color psychologists.

Committee Members

The Psychology Diversity Committee is composed of both faculty and student members.

Randy Floyd, committee co-chair

Idia Thurston, committee co-chair

  • Mollie Anderson,
  • Robert Neimeyer,
  • Philip Pavlik,
  • Ying Fang,
  • Caroline Kaufman,
  • Brianna Stith