You can edit your Faculty Dashboard to alter its contents. Locate the four small icons
in the upper right-hand corner of the channel:
- Preferences icon (pen) - Discussed in detail below.
- Full screen icon (arrow) - Expands the channel so that it fills your entire screen. Click on "Back
to Faculty Tab" to restore the normal view.
- Minimize/Maximize icon (-/+) - This compresses the channel and its contents to increase viewing space on
the main screen. The "-" sign turns to a "+" sign; click on "+" to restore the normal
- Delete Channel icon (X) - Deletes the channel. (Not Advisable!) Once you delete it, you will have to
restore the channel yourself if you want it back.
Click the pen icon to view the Faculty Dashboard Preferences screen:
Links - Most likely, you will not want to alter these.
- Class List - If you uncheck this, the Class icon/Summary Class List link will disappear from
- Wait List - This can be checked or unchecked: we do not use wait-listing at the U of M.
- Syllabus - If you uncheck this, the Syllabus icon/link will disappear from your Dashboard.
- Office Hours - If you uncheck this, the Office Hours icon/link will disappear from your Dashboard.
- E-mail Class - If you uncheck this, the e-mail icon/capability will disappear from your Dashboard.
From Term - The current term is probably the best setting to have. The further back in time
you set the term, the more likely you are to overload the channel's display capacity
and, thus, receive the "There are too many courses..." message.
Number of Rows - Probably it is best to leave this at five. If you have more courses to display
(without exceeding the channel's character capacity), then you will receive the "More"
button and can view those classes.
Sort Option - "Term" is the default, but you can change it to "Subject" if this makes sense for
Back - Returns you to the normal channel view.
Reset - Returns the channel's settings to their default value (see image above). After
clicking Reset, click Apply, and then click Back to return to the Dashboard view.
Apply - Click this to confirm any setting changes you have made. Then, click Back.