Staff Senate
Meeting Minutes for August 2005

AUGUST 18, 2005
8:30 AM

Senators who attended: Ammons, Sharon; Andrews, Margaret; Ballard, Evell; Barham, Mitch; Beasley, Sharon; Beck, Scott; Bekis, Barbara; Blake, Margo; Bowen, Leslie; Butler, Brenda; Claunch, Reba; Featherstone, Carolyn; Fitzgerald, Peggy; Fullwood, Ann; Hawkins, Yolanda; Hawkins, Roy Jr.; Hurley, Nancy; Johnson, Mary; Laney, Carol; Lim, Lorrean; Merrit, Rebecca Abernathy; Mosly, Stephen; Raiteri, Elizabeth; Stewart, Nancy; Swinger, Sandra; Turner, Debra; Wheeler, Helen; Wilson, Deborah Farrior; Woods, Keeya; Young-Taylor, Geraldine; Mason, C.E.; Fair, Angela.

Senators who were absent: Ballentine, Jeanett; Boyce, Susan; Bagdon, Rebecca; Briggs, Angela; Bronson, Terrence; Cade, Paul; Cantler, Edwin; Carman, Gary; Clarkson, Amanda; Copeland, Ruby; Crawford, Deborah; Daniel, Ashley; Istre, Penni; Lott, Ruby; McArthur, James; McMillan, Bev; O’Bryan, Kathryn; Patterson, Melodie; Taylor-Strowder, Ora.

President Scott Beck called the meeting to order.  Lorrean Lim moved, second by Leslie Bowen, to approve the minutes from the July 21, 2005 meeting.

Scott Beck gave everyone his contact information – 678-3864 (work) and 573-5746 (cell phone).

Packets containing a CD with e-mail addresses for senators (to be used with Outlook), a copy of the by-laws, a copy of the Staff Senate Pledge and a list of senators were given to everyone.

Committee reports –

Finance committee – expenditures during the last month are

  • $19.50 for name plates
  • $71.60 for packet folders
  • $37.50 for gavel for the outgoing president

Secretary – none

Membership – none

Public Relations – none

IT – the university launched the updated web page last week.  There is a web page feed back form that everyone is encouraged to use.

Scott asked senators for volunteer members of various committees.  The following senators indicated a willingness to serve:

Finance Committee – Mary Johnson (chair), Lorrean Lim, Mitch Barham, Angela Fair

Election Committee – Lorrean Lim (chair), Rebecca Merritt

Issues and Review Committee – Barbara Bekis (chair), Geraldine Young-Taylor, Sandra Swinger, Brenda Butler, Ray Hawkins

Legislative Advisory Committee – Carolyn Featherstone (chair), Peggy Fitzgerald

University Wide Committees

Bookstore – Helen Wheeler, Yolanda Hawkins

Campus Safety/Security – Reba Claunch

Facilities/Services – Elizabeth Raiteri

Fee Refunds/Appeals – Lisa Andrews, Angela Fair

First Year Experience – Debra Turner, Mary Johnson

Food Services/Dining – Leslie Bowen, Corky

IT Administrative Advisory – Mitch Barham, Carol Laney, Nancy Hurley

Public Records/Forms – Geraldine Young-Taylor

Space Planning – Nancy Stewart, Deborah Wilson

Traffic/Parking – Gary Carman, Rebecca Merritt

Ad-hoc Committees

By Laws Committee – Scott Beck, Beckey Bragdon, Penni Istre, Nancy Hurley

Elizabeth Raiteri moved, second by Mitch Barham, to give $500 to purchase water and ice for the “Warm Welcome” for students moving into dorms and the helpers.  Motion passed.

The senators discussed moving the starting time of the regular meeting time to 8:30 am.  Peggy Fitzgerald moved, second by Leslie Bowen, to change the starting time to 8:30 am. (22 for, 3 against).  The motion was approved.

New senators that were not present at the July 2005 meeting will be sworn in at the September meeting.

The meeting was adjourned.

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 1/23/12