Staff Senate
July 18, 2002

Present: Lorraine Allen, Sharon Banker, Scott Beck, Paul Cade, Gary Carman, Pam Cash, Diane Cooper, Shirley Cowley, Sherry Crone, Debra Cummings, Dianne Day, Senese Duhart, Laura Edwards, Frances Frazier, Brad Frewin, Linda Harris, David Horan, Pamela Horvath, Diana Humphrey, Carol Laney, Lonnie Latham, Laruth Lofties, Amy Martin, Nancy Matthews, Steve Mosley, Shelia Ogburn, Lynne Owens, Leslie Peach, Julia Rhodes, Hikmat Samaha, Marcy Sanford, Linda Sanford, Arlene Savage, Hope Smith, Calvin Strong, Marcia Taylor, Dwayne Thompson, Tommy Towery, Mike Ward, Melody Weldon, Michael Williams and Faye Wilson

Absent: Regina Ayers, Priscilla Deverell, Felicia Hartsfield, Cantrese Hayslett, James Hudson, Dee Luna, Virginia Reed, and James Rose

  1. Call to order at 9:33 a.m.
  2. Roll call
  3. June minutes were approved as amended and passed with 0-no and 0-abstention vote.
  4. Committee Reports:

Finance: Hope Smith $4,273.30 at year end with expenditures since then of $38.16 for new Senator training material and $21.00 for the Senate office telephone bill.

Issues Review: Dwayne Thompson Have met twice and elected Dwayne Thompson as Chair and Ginny Reed as Vice-Chair. The committee also was oriented as to the basic duties and some sample issues that have been addressed to the Committee.

On July 17, 2002 the committee met to discuss and assign issues, both new issues as well as on-

going issues. The issues assigned were:

No Air Conditioning in the Employee Wellness Center (Assigned to Debra Cummings)

Why were higher education employees granted only a 2% salary increase while other State employees given a 3% increase? (Assigned to Dwayne Thompson)

Inquiry into the Police Patrol area, jurisdiction and is there an emergency plan for the University Churches Day Care? (Assigned to Marcia Taylor)

Inquire into the University’s asbestos policy as to making employees aware of any disturbance of asbestos. (Assigned to Paul Cade)

Discount Services for Employees. (Assigned to James Rose and Pamela Horvath)

Inquire into the policies of the Sick Leave Bank. (Linda Harris will research policies and procedures)

New Issues Brought Up:

Staff Background/credit checks

Wage Garnishments (Policy/Procedure)

Membership: Leslie Peach Informed the Senate that a list was being passed around the room for each Senator to fill out providing vital information about their supervisor. This information will be used to provide the Senators’ supervisors with information about the Senate.

Public Relations: Sherry Crone No Report

Web Site: Carol Laney In the process of revising the Website. Senator Laney will e-mail the Senators the site and please provide feedback.

Election: Senese Duhart No Report


President Strong asked for volunteers for the following University Wide Committees:

Bookstore: Lonnie Latham

Facilities and Services: Gary Carman

Fee Refunds and Appeals: Pam Horvath

Food Services and Dining: Senese Duhart

IT Administrative Advisory Committee: Julie Rhodes

IT Planning and Policy Council: Tommy Towery

Public Records and Forms: Hikmat Samaha

Purchasing: Will appoint when needed.

Campus Safety and Security: Steve Mosley

Space Planning: Dianne Day

Special Parking (South Campus): Dee Luna

Traffic and Parking: Diane Cooper

President’s Council: Calvin Strong

Back to Top

5. Old Business:

Carolyn Stanley from the Faculty Senate office received a bill that belongs to the Staff Senate. Senator Smith will handle this bill.

President Strong reminded the Senators that the attendance policy does not segregate between excused and unexcused absences. After more than four missed meetings a senator has violated the attendance policy and the Senate will take action. E-mails are welcome if you are going to be absent but not required. Senators are allowed to send representatives.

6. New Business.

If you receive an e-mail with the subject "Password", do not open! This e-mail contains a virus.

The Senate included in its By-laws that we were going to operate under the Roberts Rules of Order. In order to clarify issues President Strong suggests that we purchase two copies of the latest edition of Roberts Rules of Order at a cost of approximately $35. This passed with 0-no vote. Senator Crone will handle the purchase.

President Strong brought forth the recommendation that the Senate form a committee to write a resolution for Support of Essential/Non Essential. The motion was made and passed with 0-no and 0-abstention vote. President Strong asked for volunteers for the Resolution Committee. The following senators volunteered: Diane Cooper, Faye Wilson, Gary Carman, Marcia Taylor, Dwayne Thompson, and Laura Edwards.

The idea of researching common bodies and developing a coalition with similar concerns was brought before the Senate. A motion was made and passed to form a Political Action Research Committee. The following senators volunteered: Paul Cade, David Horan, Dwayne Thompson, Frances Frazier, Dianne Day, Billie Smith, Marcia Taylor, Laura Edwards, Debra Cummings, Julie Rhodes, Diane Cooper, Faye Wilson, and Hikmat Samaha.

President Strong recommended that the Senate become more involved in activities on campus such as Warm Welcome and Homecoming. A committee was formed to develop ways that the Senate can be involved in Warm Welcome at the end of August. The following Senators volunteered for the Warm Welcome Committee: Marcy Sandford, Frances Frazier, Sharon Banker, Shelia Ogburn, Linda Harris, Melody Weldon, Carol Laney, Scott Beck, Michael Williams, and Sherry Crone.

7. Meeting Adjourned at 10:29 a.m.

Next Meeting: August 15th at 9:30 a.m. in UC 404

Back to Top

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 2/24/14