Staff Senate
March 21, 2002

Present: Jack Acor, Marcy Anderson, Regenia Ayers, Sharon Banker, Susie Barnett, Sharon Bumpus, Kathy Cook, Dianne Day, Rosemary Frix, Dee Luna, Amy Martin, James Montague, Ricky Paine, Leslie Peach, Chris Powless, Patty Short, Billie Smith, Calvin Strong, Marcia Taylor, Dwayne Thompson, Tommy Towery, Melody Weldon and Karen Wyman

Excused:                  Pam Cash, Stein Cooperwood, Janis Dublin, Senese Duhart, Laura Edwards, Felicia Hartsfield, James Hudson, Diana Humphrey, Virginia Huss, Beverly McMillan, and Ed Orio

Absent:  Dedrick Adell, Waldon Hagen, Lonnie Latham, and Derek Myers

Call to order at 9:35

President noted that Senator Edwards and Senator Cash were absent.

President introduced Maurice Williams to Senate.

Maurice requested that Senate donate $250.00 for Martin Luther King Staff Award.  A vote was taken but did not have enough votes to pass.

Maurice also announced his retirement in April.

Senator Powless made motion to not adhere to agenda but go straight to the issue of the Bylaws.  This was passed.

By-laws were handled article by article. The areas that will need more discussion are Article III section B.5 and Article IV section A. Senator Strong recommended the wording in Article III section B.5 be changed from …missing 4 consecutive meetings to missing “more than” 4 consecutive meetings.  Senator Powless moved to approve everything in Article III.  In regards to Article IV section A., Senator Thompson suggested the wording be changed.  Senator Powless moved that Article IV be approved as written, but sent back to committee for verbiage changes. Also, Article VI will need some minor re-wording.  All other articles were approved as written. 

It was suggested that this most recent set of By-Laws be signed and submitted by the President of the Staff Senate and the chairman of the by-laws committee.

February minutes were approved as amended.


Senator Smith went over groupings of clusters.  There will be some “realignment” but the changes are not complete.  Ballots will go out in the next few weeks for nominations followed by a final ballot for the election.

There were no other committee reports.

According to the Agenda the next scheduled meeting will be April 18, 2002 at 2:30 in the Fogelman Executive Center, Room 123. The President will address this joint meeting with the SGA and Faculty and Staff Senates. A motion was made to have the regular meeting on April 18th at 9:30 but invite all to the 2:30 p.m. meeting with the President.  The motion was approved.

Adjourned at 10:30.

Next Meeting:

Thursday, April 18th at 9:30 a.m. in the University Center

Joint Meeting:

Thursday, April 18th at 2:30 p.m. in the FEC Room 123

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 2/24/14