Staff Senate
September 20, 2001

Present: Jack Acor, Dedrick Adell, Marcy Anderson, Regenia Ayers, Sharon Banker, Susie Barnett, Sharon Bumpus, Pam Cash, Kathy Cook, Settlerstine Cooperwood, Dianne Day, Laura Edwards, Rosemary Frix, Felicia Hartsfield, Diana Humphrey, Virginia Huss, Lonnie Latham, Amy Martin, Beverly McMillan, James Montague, Leslie Peach, Chris Powless, Patty Short, Hope Smith, Calvin Strong, Marcia Taylor, Dwayne Thompson, Tommy Towery, Melody Weldon, Faye Wilson, and Karen Wyman

Absent: Waldon Hagen, Jennifer Baker, Rick Forrester, Mark Green, Richard Jones, Dee Luna, Carolyn Murray, Derek Myers, Ed Orio, Ricky Paine, Kerry Ryan, Richard Talley, and Chanta Williams

Excused: Janis Dublin, Senese Duhart, and James Hudson

1. Meeting was called to order at 9:34 a.m.

2. Sign-in sheet was passed for roll call and quorum was confirmed.

3. August minutes were presented for approval. A motion was made to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded and passed with a 0-no and 0-abstention vote.

4. Standing Committees:

Bookstore Committee: No Report

Facilities and Services Com.: The committee was advised on the buildings damaged by floods. A Revised Building Names list was discussed and voted on for approval. The new bookstore should open after spring rush (late January).

Fee Refunds & Appeals: Reviewed five cases, upheld two and denied three.

Food Services Committee: No Report

IT Admin. Advisory Com.: There will be a new feature that we will be able to use with a question and answer format. A database full of information will be programmed to answer the questions and if it is not able to answer the question, there will be personnel trained to do so.

IT Planning Policy Council: No Report

Public Records: No Report

Staff Senate

Page two

Public Safety Committee: No Report

Purchasing: No Report

Safety Committee: Need volunteer

Space Planning Committee: Space request for areas, such as Administration and Scates (areas where offices will be moving to Wilder Tower), will be assigned space (in these areas) on a temporary basis only for now. The Tennessee Board of Regents has approved Mitchell Hall for Asbestos Removal. The building will close for two months during the summer in order to complete the asbestos removal at one time. Offices will be relocated during this time period and if anyone has any suggestions about possible locations please contact Dianne Day.

Traffic/Parking Authority: No Report

UPDATE Meeting: Meeting September 20, 2001

5. Committee Reports

Finance Committee: Senator Edwards informed the Senate incurred the phone expense of $21, leaving a balance of $4,178.73

Issues Review Committee: There are three bidders on the Fogelman Executive Center contract. The three bidders are Wilson, Aramark, and Six Continents (Bass/Holiday Inn). Presentations are scheduled for October 3, 2001. The campus emergency plan (in discussion prior to September 11th) needs updating.

Senator Powless will take up the issue of lighting at night with Gary Fortner.

Bylaws Ad Hoc Committee: The main changes that have been made since the last meeting were made to keep the document consistent. The committee hopes to have a draft ready for the October meeting.

Web Site Coordinator(s): No Report

Staff Senate

Page three

Public Relations Committee: The Staff Appreciation Day Picnic is scheduled for October 19th. See Kathy Cook if you would like to sign-up to help. The menu is pending based on the budget. Various departments and groups have been approached about contributing money for this event. The President’s office has committed to $300. A portion will have to be funded from the Senate budget. There was discussion of the Staff Senate donating $500 for the event because funding would be coming from other sources. President Taylor advised that we could approve the amount and come back later if additional funding is needed. There was discussion since we are not guaranteed to receive any additional funding, and if the Senate really wants to put this event on in October then the funding should be in place. Senator Ayers made the formal motion that the Senate approve a maximum of $1500 for Staff Appreciation Day, and the motion was seconded. There was more discussion about the date, location, time, advertising, and volunteering. The vote was taken and the motion was passed with a 0-no and 0-abstention vote.

6. Old Business:

President Taylor asked for a volunteer for the Safety Committee. Senator Banker volunteered.

7. New Business:

Dr. Penrod will speak at the October meeting.

The University Career Associates are having a rummage sale Saturday, September 22, 2001. Call Leslie Peach at 5121 if you have any donations.

Clerical employees are guaranteed a one-time 9% increase upon passing the Certified Professional Secretary Exam. Classes are available, but not required.

Faculty Service Award Reception is scheduled for Thursday, October 4, 2001 and Staff Service Award Reception is scheduled for Monday, November 5, 2001.

Staff Senate By-Laws Article III: Roles & Responsibilities, B. Individual Senators, Item 5, reads:

Staff Senate

Page four

Any elected Senator may be removed from office by the constituents for nonperformance of Senate duties or breach of duties, or both, as defined by the Policies and Procedures of The University of Memphis. A petition requesting such removal may be brought to the Executive Committee by a simple majority of the members of the Senator's division/area or cluster or the request for removal can be brought forward by members of the Senate. The Executive Committee will investigate the matter on a case-by-case basis and will recommend action to the Senate. The final decision will be made by the Senate by secret ballot. A simple majority of those present and voting at the regular meeting will carry the vote. Possible causes for removal shall include, but not be limited to: misuse of the powers of the Senate, real or implied, to further personal causes; misuse of funds or authority; non-attendance at three (3) Senate meetings during each twelve (12) month period of their term without prior approval or justification. Approval for request for excused absence made after the missed meeting will be at the discretion of the Staff Senate President.

In accordance with the By-laws we have a number of senators who have missed at least three meetings, and they are: Rick Forrester, Mark Green, Richard Jones, Carolyn Murray, Kerry Ryan, Richard Talley, and Chanta Williams. The motion was made to proceed with replacing the senators and if necessary the Election Committee may proceed with a special election. The vote was taken, and the motion was passed with a 0-no and 0-abstention vote.

It was requested that the Senate looks into the number of excused absences allowed.

Next scheduled meeting: Thursday, October 18, 2001, at 9:30 a.m. in U.C. 404

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 2/24/14