SUAPP Departments

Through engaged scholarship, place-based initiatives and research units, our faculty and students provide research, outreach and service activities to our local and regional community. The School of Urban Affairs and Public Policy (SUAPP) offers a wide range of graduate and undergraduate degree programs for both full-time and part-time students.

The School of Urban Affairs and Public Policy is comprised of the following four academic units. Click on the name of each department to read more information about each.

City and Regional Planning

The Department of City and Regional Planning is one of four units within the School of Urban Affairs and Public Policy. The 48 hour Master's degree in City & Regional Planning prepares students for careers concerned with the physical development of communities, and the interaction of that development with the social, economic, and environmental well-being of communities. The program is fully accredited by the Planning Accreditation Board.

Criminology and Criminal Justice

The department offers bachelors programs through the College of Arts and Sciences and the Honors College, and a Master of Arts in the School of Urban Affairs and Public Policy. The study of crime and justice is complex as researchers, practitioners, and policy makers tackle issues of policing strategies, corrections, capital punishment, violence, gangs, addiction, and international crime. The University of Memphis emphasizes research, scholarship, service and community outreach.

Public and Nonprofit Administration

The Department of Public and Nonprofit Administration prepares public service and nonprofit professionals with the knowledge and skills to face today's challenges and tomorrow's opportunities. Our undergraduate and graduate programs blend critical thinking and analytical skills to prepare individuals to lead public service organizations. Students gain the competencies necessary to manage information, people and finances in an environment driven by the desire to make a difference in their communities, their nation, and their world.

Social Work

The Department of Social Work resides in the School of Urban Affairs and Public Policy within the College of Arts & Sciences. The Program offers two degree programs. The Bachelors of Arts in Social Work program and the Master of Social Work program are both fully accredited by the Council of Social Work Education (CSWE).
Learn more about SUAPP's Academic Programs

Learn more about SUAPP's Academic Degree Programs