The Loewenberg School of Nursing is organized as one unit under the leadership of a dean. The curriculum leading to the degree of Bachelor of Science in Nursing includes general education and support courses offered through other units of the university as well as the major requirements offered by the school. A comprehensive approach to health care is emphasized through utilization of a wide variety of health care settings available in Memphis and the surrounding community.

The faculty of the Loewenberg School of Nursing represents all clinical areas of nursing practice and a variety of experiences and interests. They reflect this diversity in their teaching, practice and research and are qualified by practical experience as well as by academic credentials, to function as facilitators of learning.

The Loewenberg School of Nursing holds membership in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing, Southern Council for Collegiate Education in Nursing, and the National League for Nursing. The LSON programs are fully accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, One Dupont Circle NW, Suite 530, Washington, DC 20036-1120, (202) 887-6791 and approved by the Tennessee Board of Nursing