Special Awards

Maria Leonard Scholarship Award is presented annually by Alpha Lambda Delta, national scholastic honor society, to the senior member of the society with the highest academic average.

Golden Key National Honor Society presents annually two scholarships to junior and senior members of the local chapter who have excelled in scholarship, leadership and participation in activities.

Phi Kappa Phi Scholarship Awards are presented annually to five undergraduate and graduate members who demonstrate high scholastic ability and excellent leadership, who provide meaningful service to the University, and who will continue their studies at the University.

The David A. Collins-Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership Scholarship Award is presented to a member of the U of M Circle who will continue studies at the graduate level, who has shown responsible and effective leadership, who has made significant contributions to the student body, and who inspires and encourages others to use their leadership talents for the benefit of their peers.

The Honors Program Director’s Award is presented to an honors student for outstanding academic performance in an honors curriculum.

The Jimmy Carter Presidential Award for Volunteerism is presented to that student who best exemplifies the spirit of volunteerism and action that helps alleviate human need.

The Joseph R. Riley Student Service Award is presented for outstanding service to the Honors Program and the Honors Student Association.

The Samuel T. Boswell Student Leadership Award is presented in recognition of outstanding leadership in campus issues and activities, example set for peers, the display of personal and political courage, and/or community involvement.

Rosetta I. Miller Award is presented to the outstanding woman student who has returned to college despite significant hardships.

Greek All-Sing Follies Scholars Merit Awards: Scholarships of $250 each are awarded annually by the Interfraternity Council to the pledge/associate from the previous fall or spring semester who attained the highest grade point average, and to the fraternity member with the highest grade point average over the past two consecutive semesters.

The Women’s Panhellenic Council annually awards one $250 scholarship to the sorority member who has attained the highest scholastic average. In addition, a Pledge Scholarship in the amount of $250 is awarded to the fall semester pledge who attained the highest average for the semester.

Two Panhellenic Council scholarships are awarded each spring to the PHC fraternity man and sorority woman who have obtained the highest cumulative grade point average for the previous year. Awards are in the amount of $250 each.

Women’s Intercollegiate Athletics Scholar Award is presented annually to the woman athlete who has maintained the highest grade point average while at the University.

The Elma Roane Outstanding Woman Athlete Award is presented to the junior or senior woman athlete who best exemplifies the following qualities: drive, enthusiasm, determination, concern for others, love for athletics, maturity, involvement in campus activities, and self discipline in all aspects of life.

Campus Recreation and Intramurals Awards are presented annually to the intramural Greek, intramural Independent Resident, Panhellenic Manager of the Year, and Outstanding Official of the Year who show leadership and interest in the intramural program.