Dorothy Kayser Hohenberg Chairs of Excellence in Art History Inaugurated April 2, 1989

The Dorothy Kayser Hohenberg Chair of Excellence in Art History (COE) is designed for a visiting scholar in art history whose field of research will supplement the disciplines of the full-time faculty in the Department of Art. Duration of residence may vary from one semester to three years. All fields of art history and visual culture are welcomed. Specific duties involve teaching one upper-level undergraduate course and a graduate seminar in the COE's area of expertise, possibly serving as a reader on MS thesis committees. The holder of this chair is expected to maintain residence and lecture in the city as well as maintain visibility in research nationally. To facilitate the accomplishments of these duties, the COE are provided with a travel budget for research and conference attendance, book allowance, and a graduate assistant. The holder of this chair also reviews the university library holdings in her/his area and recommend acquisitions where appropriate. Ph.D. in art history, visual culture, or an appropriate related fields are encouraged to apply. Scholars who hold a terminal degree with experience in either academic or museum settings are also eligible. We welcome senior and junior scholars who have established a significant publication record nationally and internationally in their field.

Ellen Daugherty

Ellen Daugherty COE

Ph.D, University of Virginia (2004)

Dr. Ellen Daugherty is the Dorothy Kayser Hohenberg Chair of Excellence in Art History at the University of Memphis. She holds a PhD in art history from the University of Virginia. Between 2005 and 2019, Dr. Daugherty taught art history at the Memphis College of Art, where she was also Chair of the Division of Liberal Arts. At MCA, Dr. Daugherty was awarded the Dorothy Sturm Distinguished Teaching Award. Although trained as an Americanist with particular emphasis on the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, Dr. Daugherty has taught broadly, including classes on American and African American art, history of photography, nineteenth-century European art, modernisms, writing for artists, and fashion history. Dr. Daugherty's research has long been focused on issues of the representation of African Americans in public monuments. She is currently working on a book manuscript tentatively titled, "Progress on a Pedestal: Respectability and Racial Uplift in American Public Monuments." Dr. Daugherty was recently an NEH Scholar during the 2018 NEH Summer Institute for College and University Teachers on the Visual Culture of the American Civil War and Its Aftermath. Her article, "The Rise and Fall of a Racist Monument: the Good Darky, National Geographic Magazine, and Civil Rights Activism" is forthcoming in the journal Nineteenth-Century Contexts. Dr. Daugherty also serves on the Public Art Oversight Committee of the Memphis Urban Art Commission, in which capacity she has firsthand experience in the bureaucratic creation of public art.


The following list includes past COEs:

Pamela Nunn, 2016-17, U of Canterbury, Independent, Feminist Art

Celeste Bernier, 2014-15, U of Nottingham, African Diaspora

Yasser Tabbaa, 2013-14, Independent, Islamic

Edward Shanken, 2012-13, Independent, New Media

Julie McGee, 2011-12, U of Delaware, African Diaspora, UDaily

Mikelle Smith Omari-Tunkara, Spring 2010 and 2010-2011, U of Arizona, African Diaspora

Katherine Hoffmann, Spring 2009, St. Anselm, Photography

Till-Holger Borchert, 2007-2008, Bruges Museum, Renaissance

Nigel Strudwick, 2006-2007, British Museum, Egyptian

Kenneth Haltman, 2005-2006, U of Oklahoma, American

Francesco Tiradritti, 2004-2005, U of Naples, Egyptian

Joan Holladay, 2003-2004, UT Austin, Medieval

Christopher Reed, 2002-2003, Penn State, Gender Studies

Doris Srinivasan, 2001-2002, Independent, India

Paula Gerson, 2000-2001, FSU, Medieval

Michael Weaver, Spring 2000, Oxford, Photography

Christopher Johns, 1997-1998, Vanderbilt, 18th-19th Century

Marcia Kupfer, 1996-1997, Ohio State, Medieval

*Andrew Ladis, 1995-1996, UGA, Renaissance

*Mary Sheriff, 1994-1995, UNC, 18th Century

Bruce Cole Spring, 1994, Renaissance Center, Am.Revolution

Norman Land, 1992-1993, Un Mo., Columbia, Renaissance

Michael Weaver Fall, 1991 Oxford University, Photography

Babatunde Lawal, 1990-1991, VCU, African Art