College of Education Research

Research Grant Award Recipients

2023 Faculty Research Grant Award Winners

  • Dr. Edith Gnanadass, LEAD, "Learning Race in the South Asian American Experience"
  • Dr. Charisse Gulosino, LEAD, "Evaluating Edcuation Management Organization (EMO) Impacts: What are the Effects of EMO-Operated Schools on Student Achievement, School Disciplin, and Segregation?"
  • Dr. Alison Happel-Parkins, CEPR, "Pelvic Floor Health Experiences for LGBTQI+ Folx"
  • Dr. Suman Rath, ICL, "From Learning to Teach to Teaching Learners: Culturally Responsive Mathematics Teaching and Clinical Mentoring and Coaching Initiative"

2022 Faculty Research Grant Award Winners

  • Dr. Ashley Batastini, CEPR, “Perceptions, Options, and Barriers in the Treatment of the Justice Involved”
  • Dr. Genia Bettencourt, LEAD, “Examining the Experiences of Student Caregivers”
  • Dr. Daniel Collier, LEAD, “Winning in West Tennessee”
  • Dr. Anna Falkner, ICL, “Contexts for Learning About Race & Racism in the Early Grades”
  • Dr. Denise Winsor, CEPR, “Middle School Students Stress and Coping  During COVID-19: Exploring Teacher and Parent Perspectives on Student Growth Mindset”

2021 Faculty Research Grant Award Winners

  • Dr. Michelle Brasfield, CEPR, "Providing Support to Educator's Affected by Trauma"
  • Dr. Eli Jones, CEPR, "Sources of Research Self-Efficacy and FirstGeneration Undergraduate Students: Measurement Considerations"
  • Dr. Andrew Tawfik, ICL, "Design and Development of Informal STEM Learning to Address Equity"

2020 Faculty Research Grant Award Winners

  • Dr. Jeffrey Byford, ICL, "Growing Up in East Germany: The Making of Socialist Youth"
  • Dr. Luann Ley Davis, ICL, "Mathematical Problem Solving for Learners with Developmental Disabilities and/or ASD"
  • Dr. Chi Li, CEPR, "The Need for Clinical Training for Counselors Working in Integrated Behavioral Healthcare"
  • Dr. Suzanne Lease, CEPR, "A Conservation of Resources Approach to HIV Related Stigma"
  • Dr. Eric Platt, LEAD, "The Woodstock Letters: Communicating the History and Memory of Jesuit Education in The United States 1872-1969"
  • Dr. Jade Xu, CEPR, "Near-Peer Mentoring for Academically At-Risk Students in STEM Majors: A Pilot Study"

2019 Faculty Research Grant Award Recipients 

  • Dr. Diana Delgado, ICL, "Using Virtual Reality Exposure Therapy to Decrease Medical Procedure Phobia in Children with Developmental Disabilities"
  • Dr. Yeh Hsueh, CEPR, "Chinese Rural Preschool in Transformation: Cultural Changes and Continuity"
  • Dr. Rachael Ross, ICL, "Reading 'Chutes and Ladders' using LLI as a Ladder Against the Summer 'chute'"
  • Dr. Eraina Schauss, CEPR, "Fostering Intrinsic Resilience: A Social, Environmental and Neuroscience Intervention for ACE Exposed Children"
  • Dr. Katie Wade-Jaimes, ICL, "Understanding the Impact of STEM Schools in Urban Areas"

Dean’s Summer Research Faculty Fellowships Recipients

  • Dr. Patrick Murphy, CEPR
  • Dr. Anna Falkner, ICL
  • Dr. Edith Gnanadass, LEAD

Research Centers

The COE also partners with several research centers. Click the links below to learn about on-going research projects through the COE.