

Faculty Senate Minutes of the Executive Committee

Presiding: DeAnna Owens-Mosby Date: May 2, 2023

Secretary: Jeni Loftus

Members Present: DeAnna Owens-Mosby (President), W. Pat Travis (Past-President), Mark

Sunderman (Parliamentarian), Genae Strong (At-Large), and Leah Windsor(At-Large).

Members Absent: Jeni Loftus (Secretary).

Guests: None

The meeting was held on Tuesday, May 2, 2023 in ADMIN 382.

2.21.23.01 Call to Order

President DeAnna Owens-Mosby called the meeting of the Faculty Senate (FS) Executive Committee (EC) to order with a quorum at 11:45 am.

2.21.23.02 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as written.

2.21.23.03 Approval of Minutes

There were no minutes to approve with this being the first meeting with the 2023-2024 Executive Committee.

2.21.23.04 President's Report

President Owens-Mosby reported that in the Dean's Council Meeting there are new documents for the Tenure and Promotion External Review Letters. The University of Memphis is creating a task force to address the Divisive Concepts Bill. The Faculty Senate Website has been updated by Kelly Freeman.

2.21.23.05 Old Business

There was no Old Business

2.21.23.06 New Business

Develop Charges for 2023-2024 Standing Committees

President Owens-Mosby led a discussion of developing charges for the Standing Committee assignments to be approved at the next Executive Committee meeting. Once approved, the charges will be forwarded to Senior Administration.

Dates for New Senator Orientation

President Owens-Mosbty led a discussion on the 2023-2024 New Senator Orientation dates that the EC agreed will be August 24th or 25th. The final date will be determined in August.

Faculty Senate Meetings to Return to the Senate Chamber

President Owens-Mosby led a discussion on whether the senate meetings would return to the Senate Chamber for the 2023-2024 year. A unanimous vote of 5 out of 5 voted to return to the in person senate meetings in the Senate Chamber for 2023-2024.

2.21.23.07 Announcements

President Owens-Mosby announced that she will represent the Faculty Senate on the Divisive Concepts work group.

2.21.23.08 Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 12:45 pm.

Appendix

A.1: Standing Committee Draft List

Academic Policies 1

- 1. Matthew Parris
- 2. Jeni Loftus
- 3. Melanie Conroy
- 4. Coe Lapossey
- 5. Patrick Murphy
- 6. Edith Gnanadass
- 7. Brin Janz
- 8. Andrew Hussey
- 9. Gensheng Liu

Academic Support

- 1. Daniel E. Millican
- 2. Dursen Peksen
- 3. Katie Norwood
- 4. Mark Sunderman

Faculty Policies

- 1. Lynda Black
- 2. Esra Ozdenerol
- 3. Tori Cliff
- 4. Kas Saghafi

Budget and Finance

- 1. Leah Windsor
- 2. Alistair Windsor
- 3. Brian Ruggaber
- 4. Zabi Razee
- 5. Rhema Fuller
- 6. Fawaz Mzayek

Research Policies

- 1. William Alexandar
- 2. Reza Banai
- 3. Tim Mccurdy
- 4. Scott Marler
- 5. Amanda Young
- 6. Deborah Moncrieff
- 7. Jessica Jennings
- 8. Mihalis Golias
- 9. Eddie Jacobs
- 10. Genae Strong

Admin Policies

- 1. Sajjan Shiva
- 2. Gerald Chaudron

Library Policies

- 1. Kathryn Hicks
- 2. Michael Anderson Shultz
- 3. Francias Fabian

Committee on Committees

- 1. Michael Anderson Shultz
- 2. Jeff Marchetta
- 3. Genae Strong

Exec Committee- At Large

- 1. Leah Windsor
- 2. Alistair Windsor
- 3. Jeni Loftus
- 4. Mark Sunderman
- 5. Genea Strong

Pres-Elect

- 1. Alistair Windsor
- 2. Genae Strong
- 3. DeAnna Owens Mosby

Secretary

1. Jeni Loftus

Parliamentarian

- 1. Mark Sunderman
- 2. Jeff Marchetta

A.2: 2023-2024 Faculty Senate Meeting Calendar

Faculty Senate 23 –24 Meeting Calendar

Standing Committee

August 15 January 16

September 12 February 13

October 10 March 12 November 14 April 9

Executive Committee

August 23 January 23 September 19 February 20

October 24 March 19 November 21 April 16

Faculty Senate

August 29 January 30 April 30

September 26 February 27

October 31 March 26 November 28 April 23