

## Minutes of the Faculty Senate

Presiding: Jill Dapremont (Nursing) Date: 04-26-2022

**Secretary:** R. Jeffrey Thieme (Marketing & Supply Chain Management)

Senators Present: Reza Banai (City & Regional PlanningTheodore J. Burkey (Chemistry), Gerald Chaudron (Univ Libraries), Jill Dapremont (Nursing), Frances Fabian (Management), Hal Freeman Jr. (Professional & Lib.Studies), David Gray (Philosophy), Denis Grele (World Languages and Literatures), Andrew Hussey (Economics), Eddie Jacobs (Electrical & Computer Engineering), Brian Janz (Business Info. Tech), Amber Jennings (Biomedical Engineering), Shelley Keith (Criminology & Criminal Justice), Jeni Loftus (Sociology), Maggie Landry (Social Work), Jeff Marchetta (Mechanical Engineering), Scott Marler (History), Sanjay Mishra (Physics), Debbie Moncrief (Comm Sciences & Disorder), Deanna Owens-Mosby (Instr. & Curr. Leadership), Patrick Murphy (CEPR), Fawaz Mzayek (Public Health), Esra Ozdenerol (Earth Sciences), Matthew Parris (Bio Sciences), Dursun Peksen (Political Science), Michael Perez (Anthropology), Zabiholah Rezaee (Accountancy), Terri Del Rosso (Jour. & Strategic Media), Brian Ruggaber (Theatre & Dance), Sajjan G. Shiva (Computer Science), Craig Stewart (Comm Film), Mark Sunderman (Fin, Ins, & Real Estate), Scott Sundvall (English), Jeff Thieme (Marketing & Supply Chain Management), William P. Travis (Health and Daryn Zubke (Music).

## **Senator Present by Proxy:**

**Senators Absent:** Brennan K. Berg (KWS), Michail Gkolias (Civil Engineering), Rebecca Howard (Art), Joaquin Lopez (Economics), Jim McGinnis (Engineer & Tech), Steven L. Nelson (Leadership), David Romantz (Law), Curt Schuletheis (Mil Sci-Naval Sci), and Jennifer Thompson (Architecture), Jerry Watson (Social Work), Máté Wierdl (Mathematical Sciences),

**Faculty Senate Information Officer:** To be determined.

**New Faculty Senators Present 22-23:** Lynda Black (Law), Melanie Conroy (World Languages), Tori Cliff (Journ & Strategic Media), Stephanie Huette (Psychology), Travis Kelly (Military Sciences, Naval Sciences), Michael Anderson Shultz (Music), Kevin Taylor (Philosophy), Alistair Windsor (Mathematical Sciences), Leah Windsor (English), Amanda Young (Communication & Film),

**Guests:** Markia Hilliard (Faculty Senate Admin), Thomas Nenon (Provost)

The four-hundred-and-eighty-eighth meeting of the University of Memphis Faculty Senate was held on Tuesday, April 26, 2022, via the Zoom video conferencing platform due to restrictions imposed in response to the COVID-19 global pandemic.

#### 04.26.22.01 CALL TO ORDER (2:40 P.M.)

President Jill Dapremont called the virtual meeting to order at 2:40 pm with a quorum present.

#### 04.26.22.02 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved as written. President Dapremont thanked Senators for their service. Provost Tom Nenon thanked President Dapremont on behalf of outgoing University President M. David Rudd and incoming University President Bill Hardgrave. He added that it's been an extremely difficult year. He thanked faculty for a job well done. President Dapremont thanked administration for their work during the year.

#### 04.26.22.03 APPROVAL OF MINUTES

# Faculty Senate - April 19, 2022

The minutes of the April 19, 2022, Faculty Senate (FS) meeting were approved as written.

#### 04.26.22.04 PRESIDENT'S REPORT

#### Discharge of the 2021-2022 Senators

President Dapremont thanked the outgoing Senators for their service and discharged them.

#### Welcome Dr. William "Pat" Travis – Faculty Senate President Elect

President Dapremont yielded the floor to President-elect Pat Travis to preside as President. Note: This marks the transition from the 2021-2022 session to the 2022-2023 session of the FS.

#### 04.26.22.05 NEW BUSINESS

# Election of Faculty Senate 2022-2023 Officers:

President Travis presided over the elections of officers. He thanked President Dapremont for her service as President.

#### President-elect

Nominees: Senators DeAnna Owens-Mosby and Zabiholah Rezaee

Senator DeAnna Owens-Mosby was elected President-elect.

#### Secretary

Nominee: Senator Jeff Thieme

Senator Jeff Thieme was elected Secretary.

#### Parliamentarian

Nominees: Senators Jeffrey Marchetta and Mark Sunderman

Senator Jeffrey Marchetta was elected Parliamentarian.

Executive Committee – At-Large (Two positions)

Nominees: Senators Jeffrey Marchetta, DeAnna Owens-Mosby, Mark Sunderman, and Jeff Thieme.

Senators Marchetta, Owens-Mosby, and Thieme rescinded their nominations, leaving Senator Mark Sunderman as the only nominee.

Parliamentarian Marchetta nominated Senators Jeni Loftus and Brian Ruggaber. Senator Ruggabear declined the nomination.

Senators Jeni Loftus and Mark Sunderman were elected by acclamation as at-large members of the EC.

Committee on Committees (Five positions)

Nominees: Senators Brennan Berg, Travis M. Kelly, Maggie Landry, Scott Marler, and Michael Anderson Shultz.

The slate of nominees was adopted by acclamation.

#### **Breakout Rooms**

President Travis reported that Committees will meet in breakout rooms to elect Committee Chairs. Committee Chairs are to report to Markia Hilliard.

Academic Policies Committee: Senator Brian Janz

Academic Support Committee: Senator Andrew Hussey

Administrative Policies Committee: Senator Ted Burkey

Budget and Finance Committee: Senator Zabi Rezaee

Committee on Committees: Senator Scott Marler

Faculty Policies Committee: Senator Jeff Marchetta

Library Policies Committee: Senator Frances Fabian

Research Policies Committee: Senator Mike Golias

## 04.26.22.06 ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 3:33 pm.