Fogelman College of Business and Economics
University of Memphis Photo
Seven FCBE Accounting Students Awarded Scholarships

Seven Fogelman College students in the School of Accountancy were awarded the 2013 Memphis Chapter Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accounting (TSCPA) Scholarships. These students Kristin Ruthschman, Zachary Willis, Lisa Lyons, Ben Gardner, Amy Teng, Britney McWilliams and Katherine Pugh all received monetary gifts as well as public recognition at the TSPCA award luncheon in February.

“We are extremely proud of these students,” said Dr. Carolyn Callahan, Director of the School of Accountancy. “Each one of these award recipients is worthy of the scholarship. This group represents the type of commitment to academia and the accounting profession that we, as professors, like to see in our students.”

The mission of the Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants is to enhance the success of their members through service, support and advocacy. The state of Tennessee as well as local TSCPA chapters is involved in providing funds and awarding scholarships. The Memphis chapter has been extremely generous in recognizing The University of Memphis students, often exceeding limitations when colleges and universities have a large number of top students.

In the past 20 years, the Educational & Memorial Foundation of the Tennessee Society of CPAs has provided more than $2 million in scholarships to deserving Tennessee accounting students. Scholarships are available to students who have completed introductory accounting courses and are majoring in accounting. The committee's goal is to encourage students to enter the accounting profession. Only students who are residents of Tennessee, U.S. citizens and attend a Tennessee school are eligible for the scholarships.

Fogelman Flash Home

Dean Grover's Message

Three FCBE Faculty Awarded Professorships for Exemplary Leaders

FCBE Alumnus, George Johnson, Makes Generous Donation

Shawn Jones Wins Distinguished Teaching Award

Fogelman Business College’s Online MBA Program Ranked Among the Nation’s Best

Against All Odds Luncheon Inspires Students

Dhaliwal Recognized as a Faculty Research “Millionaire”

Executive MBA Program Honors Top Two Students with Dean’s Award

Seven FCBE Accounting Students Awarded Scholarships

Dr. Bill Kettinger Appointed Senior Editor of MIS Quarterly

Dr. Albert Okunade Honored by Economics Association

Four FCBE Staff Members Win Fogelman Force Awards

MIS Professor Kettinger Awarded Fulbright Visiting Professorship

SunTrust Bank Makes Generous Donation to FCBE

Dr. David Spiceland’s Textbook Goes Global

Kemmons Wilson School Students Win First Place

Assessment of Learning Program Ensures High Academic Standards at FCBE

Dr. David Kemme Selected for Prestigious Fellowship

Accounting Ph.D. Student Invited to Attend Scholarly Conference

Dr. Steven Jordan Receives Recognition for Articles

EMBA Students Receive Major Promotions

MILE Program Research Article Accepted for Publication

MIS Professor Receives Department of Defense Grant

Brian Janz and John Amis Win Best Paper Award

MIS Professors’ Articles are Accepted in Top-Rated MIS Journal

Dr. Bhagat Receives Journal Membership and Fellowship

FCBE Professors Receive Best Paper Award

Fogelman Professor and Former Student are selected for Publication

Dr. Rezaee’s Text “Corporate Sustainability” Wins Business Ethics Gold Axiom Award


Fogelman Flash Archive

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 5/1/13