Our Graduates

We are honored to be able to help launch the careers of so many ambitious and successful leaders. Check back here for more updates and news regarding former students from UofM's Department of Leadership.

Visionary Leaders with Solutions for Success

Ms. Tammy Mason - Arlington Community Schools 

Dr. David Stephens - Barlett City Schools 

Mr. John Aitkens - Collierville Schools 

Dr. Ted Horrell - Lakeland School System 

Dr. William (Buddy) Bibb - Tipton County Schools 

BCS Superintendent, Dr. Stephens, named TN Superintendent of the Year

Dr. Stephens was chosen out of a group of eight Regional Superintendents of the Year; he has been the superintendent of Bartlett City Schools since its creation in 2014.

"We are very proud of David for winning the State Superintendent of the Year Award," Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents Executive Director Wayne Miller said. "The work that he has done has been exemplary, especially given the fact that he created the district from scratch just a short time ago.  David and his school and district leaders are always very active in professional development.  Being recognized for his good work comes as no surprise."

Dr. Stephens will represent the state of Tennessee at the American Association of School Administrators Conference on Education. There, he will also submit his application for National Superintendent of the Year.

Copyright 2016 WMC Action News 5. All rights reserved.


Department of Leadership Graduate Dr. Sharon Griffin Leads iZone School District

Dr. Sharon Griffin is the regional superintendent of Shelby County Schools' Innovation Zone.


Dr. Sharon Griffin was also honored by the Education week.

Department of Leadership Graduate Dr. Trevor Thompson

Trevor Thompson is doing research that affects families living with Sickle Cell Disease and apply research methods that learned in the department. 


Department of Leadership (HIAD) Graduate Mario Brown

Dr. Mario Brown Receives one of the 37th Distinguished Alumni Awards

Dr. Mario E. Brown (BS '03, EdD '12)
Outstanding Young Alumnus
Manager, Leader Assessment & Development, First Horizon National Corporation