UofM Board of Trustees Committee Membership Announced

Dear Campus Community:

With the University's transition to independent governance last month, one of the first actions of our Board of Trustees (BOT) was to adopt a working committee structure. The committees will enable the Board to work efficiently and effectively, taking advantage of our trustees' talents and extensive experiences as they help us move the University forward into a new era. As I have mentioned, the Board will empower the University to address challenges swiftly while positioning us to benefit from emerging opportunities.

The Board of Trustees will have three standing committees. The following table lists the names of trustees who are members of each committee and provides a brief overview of each committee's chartered purpose.

Committee and Trustee Members Committee Purpose
Academic, Research, and Student Success      
Douglas Edwards Marvin Ellison R. Brad Martin David North Carol Roberts Katharine Schaffzin Student Trustee (to be named)

Oversees the academic enterprise of the University and issues relating to student affairs and success; facilitates the University's vision of enhanced recognition as one of America's great metropolitan research universities; strives to advance the mission of the University as a learner-centered university; oversees matters related to student success including recruitment, retention, persistence, completion rates and satisfaction.
Governance and Finance Alan B. Graf, Jr* (Board Chair) Cato Johnson* R. Brad Martin* (Board Vice Chair) David North Katharine Schaffzin Susan Springfield Student Trustee
*Executive Committee elected by Board of Trustees
Ensures the integrity of the Board and enhances board performance; advises the Board on the state of the University's financial operations, budget, student fees, personnel policies and facilities; serves to ensure the University operates within available resources and in compliance with applicable federal and state laws and University policies in a manner supportive of the University's strategic plan.
Douglas Edwards Marvin Ellison Alan B. Graf, Jr Cato Johnson Carol Roberts Susan Springfield
Assures that the University's organizational culture, capabilities, systems and processes are appropriate to protect the financial health and reputation of the University; reviews the financial reporting processes, internal controls, audit activities, risk assessment, and the process for monitoring and ensuring compliance with laws and regulations. The Audit Committee is required by State statute.


Representatives of the University will work on the Board committees, providing information and assisting the trustees. Additionally, ad hoc/temporary task or objective-specific committees will be formed under Board auspices, as needed, and will include additional representatives from the University community.

Committees will meet prior to each full board meeting. The next Board meeting and the first committee meetings will be held on Tuesday, June 6, 2017. The committees will meet that morning followed by the full board meeting that afternoon.

Information on each trustee is accessible at https://www.memphis.edu/bot/board/. The Board of Trustees website is located at https://www.memphis.edu/bot/.
If you have any comments or questions, please email the Office of Board Relations at trustees@memphis.edu.

M. David Rudd
President | Distinguished University Professor

The University of Memphis
341 Administration Building
Memphis, TN 38152

901.678.2234 | cell: 901.619.1769