Michael Hagge

Michael Hagge

Michael Hagge is a Professor and Chair of the Department of Architecture.

Michael teaches the summer AIAS Design+Build Studio as well as Introduction to Architecture + Design, Design Studio 2, Internship in Architecture, and other courses at the graduate and undergraduate level.  Although no longer in active professional practice, Michael brings over 30 years of experience into the studio and classroom.  Much of his work in architecture, urban design, and city planning has focused on quality of life issues for disenfranchised populations and "giving back" to the community, a belief that is part of the core values of the Department of Architecture.

In addition to his teaching and administrative duties, Michael serves as faculty co-advisor (with Professor Emerita Sherry Bryan) to the UofM chapter of the American Institute of Architecture Students and faculty co-advisor (with Professor Jennifer Barker) to the UofM chapter of Tau Sigma Delta, the national architecture honor society.

Michael holds two professional degrees:  a Master of Architecture from Virginia Tech and a Master of City + Regional Planning from the University of Memphis.  Michael considers himself fortunate to have also studied under the late Swiss architect Olivio Ferrari in Ticino, CH.  Michael also earned a Master of Arts in Public Administration under a Government Service Fellowship from the US Civil Service Commission.

Among the many awards Michael has received over his career, he is most proud of the Francis Gassner Award from the Memphis Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (co-recipient with Professor Sherry Bryan), the 2023 AIA Memphis President's Award, the 2023 AIAS National Faculty Impact Honor Award, the Tau Sigma Delta Architecture Honor Society Silver Medal from the TSD Kappa Alpha Chapter, the UofM Excellence in Engaged Scholarship Award, the CCFA Excellence in Engaged Scholarship Award, the UofM Honors Program Professor of the Year Award, the Dean's Outstanding Research Award, and the Benjamin W. Rawlins, Jr. Meritorious Professorship. He was also co-recipient with Professor Sherry Bryan of the United Nations International Year of Shelter Merit Award for work in fair and affordable housing, and the National Winner of the Partnership for Fair and Affordable Housing Award from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.