August 18 commencement

News and Events

Kelsey Mankel was awarded an NIH F31 NRSA fellowship from the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders for her project "Neural bases of successful auditory learning." The award provides $91,040 over two years. Mankel is a fourth-year doctoral student working in the lab of Dr. Gavin Bidelman (faculty sponsor). The grant will fund her remaining doctoral studies at UofM by providing protected time for dedicated research training. (posted May 2, 2020)

Amy Nabors, clinical instructor in the School of Communication Sciences and Disorders, co-authored the guest column "Telecommuting is turning many of us into 'professional voice users'" for The Daily Memphian. Read the column here. (posted May 2, 2020)

Dr. Jennifer Taylor, clinical associate professor and director of Clinical Services in Audiology in the School of Communication Sciences and Disorders, was featured in a national forum on how CSD programs are adapting during the COVID-19 public health emergency. Read more here. (posted May 2, 2020)

Dr. Deborah Moncrieff was awarded a FedEx Development grant. (posted December 11, 2019)

Dr. Naomi Eichorn and Vicki Haddix were celebrated as first-time Principal Investigators at the University's 2019 Research Celebration. (posted March 2, 2019)

Dr. Deborah Moncrieff was awarded $107,198 from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in collaboration with University of Colorado-Denver, for her project "TACIT Teletherapy." (posted March 1, 2019)

Dr. Gavin Bidelman receives a 5-year, $1.9 million R01 Grant from the NIH-NIDCD. The award will support ongoing ACNL neuroimaging studies characterizing the neural bases of auditory categorization, learning, and speech perception. (posted June 7, 2018)

Dr. Lisa Lucks Mendel and SPAL License Intellectual Property to Auditec. Inc. (posted April 24, 2018)

University Honors Dr. Kim Oller with Lifetime Achievement Award at Research Celebration. (posted March 2, 2018)

Dr. Eugene Buder is part of a team working to develop mPerf mobile sensor technology for workplace assessment. (posted August 2, 2017)

Dr. Lisa Lucks Mendel, Jordan Alyse Coffelt, Monique Pousson, Kati Lane, and Melanie Carter received the award for "Excellence in Pediatrics" at AudiologyNOW 2017 for their poster entitled "Introducing the SPPIT: Spanish Pediatric Picture Identification Test". (posted April 12, 2017)

3rd-year AuD students Hannah Beth Scott and Erin Gowen for received the James and Susan Jerger Award for Excellence in Student Research at AudiologyNOW 2017 for their poster entitled "How Does the Speech Intelligibility Index Compare to Speech Perception Performance in the Verifit?". (posted April 12, 2017)

A new study published in the Journal of Neuroscience by Dr. Gavin Bidelman and collaborators at the Rotman Research Institute-Toronto suggests that the way the brain processes speech could serve as a predictor of early dementia before obvious communication problems appear. (posted March 30, 2017)

Dr. Gavin Bidelman was a recipient of the College of Arts and Sciences Early Career Research Award. (posted August 19, 2016)

Dr. Kim Oller and Dr. Eugene Buder have been awarded a 5-year, $3.2 million grant from the National Institutes of Health for a study on early vocal development and predictions of autism. (posted November 19, 2015)