University Awards

The University of Memphis Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Engaged ScholarshipSponsored by the Alumni Association, this award recognizes a faculty member’s distinguished contributions to excellence in engaged scholarship. Nominations are solicited by colleges during the fall semester each year, and colleges send nominations to the office of the Vice Provost for Research during the early spring semester. The award carries a $2000 cash prize and recognition at the annual Faculty Convocation in late Spring.

Excellence in Engaged Scholarship AwardThe University of Memphis has established a faculty award to recognize excellence in engaged scholarship. The Excellence in Engaged Scholarship Award will further raise awareness of engaged scholarship in partnerships between faculty members and students of the University of Memphis and community organizations and agencies in the Memphis/Mid-South region, the State of Tennessee, the United States, and global communities.

National Awards

The Harold Love Outstanding Community Service Award

The Harold Love Award recognizes outstanding community service in higher education. Students, faculty, and staff are all eligible for this award which is facilitated by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and is accompanied by a $1000 cash prize. Nominations must be submitted by March 15th of each year.

The Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty

The New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE) sponsors the Lynton Award to honor early career faculty members who demonstrate exemplary engaged scholarship in both the classroom and the community. University of Memphis professor Dr. Katherine Lambert-Pennington recently won this award for her excellent work at the UofM and South Memphis.

The Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellows Award

This award honors student leaders committed to solving challenges that face local communities. Sophomores and juniors are eligible for this award. Only one student per year can be nominated from qualifying campuses, and nominations must be made by University presidents.

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award 

Another award sponsored by Campus Compact, the Thomas Ehrlich Award-- honors senior faculty members for excellence in engaged scholarship. Application materials are due each year in April and awardees are selected based on their work in the classroom as well as the University and community levels.

The C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Award and the Outreach Scholarship WK Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award 

Sponsored by the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) and the National Outreach Scholarship Conference, the Magrath/Kellogg awards recognize excellence in engaged scholarship at four year public universities.

Excellence in Engaged Scholarship Award Winners

2014 Katherine Lambert-Pennington
2013 Lynda M. Sagrestano
2012 Joy A. Clay
2011 No award given
2010 Michael D. Hagge
2009 Dorothy Norris-Tirrell
2008 Michael Schmidt
2007 Phyllis Betts & Richard Janikowski
2006 James P. Whelan
2005 Stan Hyland

2013-14 Travel Grant Awardees 

Lauren Burrow
Nicole Thompson
Erin Nemenoff
Latrice Pichon
Diana Ruggerio
Allison Happel

2014 Engaged Learning Fellows

Jenna Thompson and Jennifer Barker
Torre Kelley
Lauren Burrow
Adel Abdelnaby