UofM Delegation Earns Five Awards at Intercollegiate State Legislature

December 3, 2015 - The University of Memphis delegation to the Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature (TISL) earned five awards at the recent forum. TISL is an assembly for some of the state's top campus leaders to exchange ideas, express their opinions and learn how government works.

The UofM awards included: Outstanding Delegation (runner-up for best in House of Representatives); Best Lobbyist, Charles Uffelman; Best Senator, David Carlyle; Carlisle Award for Best Speaker, Zachary Crawford; and David Carlyle won the race to be next year's lieutenant governor.

TISL's Senate and House of Representatives, which first convened in 1966, meet in the legislative chambers of the state capitol each November. They use the chambers of the Tennessee General Assembly to introduce, debate and vote on bills that could affect the future of the state and the nation.

The TISL General Assembly consists of a Senate and House of Representatives. Each school has one senator. The House has 99 members, which are apportioned according to enrollment.

Each delegate is expected to write and introduce at least one bill for consideration. The General Assembly has standing committees, which consider bills after they're introduced and before they go to the Senate and House.

Contact: Gabrielle Maxey