UofM Journalism Alumni Club Will Host Awards Dinner Oct. 13

September 20, 2016 - The University of Memphis Journalism Alumni Club will host its Outstanding Alumni Awards Thursday, Oct. 13, at the UofM Holiday Inn, 3700 Central Ave. Registration will begin at 6 p.m., with the dinner and program following at 7 p.m.

The honorees include: Outstanding Young Alumna Award - Megan Harris (BA '11), editor at 90.5 WESA, Pittsburgh's NPR station; Charles E. Thornton Award - Frank Thorsberg (BA '78), data recovery specialist with DriveSavers Data Recovery, and Elise Mitchell (MA '92), CEO of Mitchell Communications Group; Herbert Lee Williams Award - Dr. David Arant, chair of the UofM Department of Journalism and Strategic Media; and Emerging Journalist Award - Jonathan Capriel, UofM student and editor-in-chief of The Daily Helmsman.

Tickets are $60 per person, $100 per couple, $500 for a table of 10 and $35 for current students and recent graduates (five years out or less).

The Charles E. Thornton Award is named in honor of a former Memphis journalist who was killed while on assignment in Afghanistan in 1985. The Herbert L. Williams Award is named for the Department of Journalism's founding chair. Williams died in 2004.

Contact: Gabrielle Maxey