UofM Law Alumni Chapter Will Honor Pillars of Excellence Aug. 26

July 10, 2017 - The Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law Alumni Chapter will honor seven individuals at the 2017 Pillars of Excellence. The event will be held Saturday, Aug. 26, at the Hilton Memphis. A VIP Meet and Greet reception with the recipients will begin at 5:30 p.m., followed by a cocktail reception at 6 p.m. and the dinner and program at 7 p.m.

The 2017 Pillars of Excellence honorees are Homer Boyd Branan III (BA '68, JD '68) of Farris Bobango Branan; Hon. Julia Smith Gibbons of the U.S. 6th Circuit Court of Appeals; John I. Houseal Jr. (BS '67, JD '70) of Glankler Brown; Jim N. Raines (BA '66, JD 68), retired from Glankler Brown; Hon. James Dale Todd (JD '72), senior U.S. district judge of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Tennessee; and James C. Warner of Martin, Tate, Morrow & Marston. The Law Alumni Chapter also will honor former UofM President Shirley C. Raines as Friend of the Law School.

RSVP at 901.678.2467 or online at alumni.memphis.edu/pillars2017. The deadline for reservations is Aug. 18.

The Law Alumni Chapter began this event in 2007. Recipients of the Pillars of Excellence Award must be living at the time of selection; must have been admitted to the practice of law for more than 45 years; given significant service to the legal profession, including membership in bar associations and participation in bar association activities; given significant service to the community, including involvement in civic and charitable organizations; served in leadership roles in the legal and civic communities; made other significant contributions to the practice of law; and must be generally recognized among the Memphis Bar to possess the highest legal skills and ethical standards.


Contact: Gabrielle Maxey