UofM will recognize exceptional teaching and research

April 29, 2021 – The University of Memphis annually recognizes exceptional teaching and research at the Faculty Awards ceremony. The 2020-21 academic year awards will be held on Sept. 17.

The 2021 awards and honorees are as follows:

Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award Recipient:

Beverly Bond, PhD

The Eminent Faculty Award is presented by the Board of Visitors to an individual who has made exceptional and sustained contributions to scholarly achievement, teaching and service, bringing honor and recognition to the University. This is the highest distinction given to a faculty member by the University.

Alumni Association Distinguished Research Award Recipients:

  • Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Creative Arts
    • Brandon Bell, MFA (CCFA) 
  • Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Research in the Humanities
    • Beverly Bond, PhD (CAS)
  • Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Research in the Social Sciences, Business & Law
    • Joy Goldsmith, PhD (CCFA)
  • Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Research in Science, Engineering & Mathematics  
    • Bentuo Zheng, PhD (CAS)
  • The Excellence in Engaged Scholarship Award
    • Kathryn Howell, PhD (CAS) 

Alumni Association Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients:

  • Mollie Anderson, PhD - Instructor of Psychology (and two-time former finalist for this award)
  • Brian Kwoba, PhD - Assistant Professor of History, specializing in African American History
  • Denis Grélé, PhD - Associate Professor of French (and two-time former finalist)
  • Ralph Brashier, JD – Professor of Law & Cecil C. Humphreys Chair, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law