UofM President M. David Rudd named to NCAA Division I Board of Directors

Sept. 22, 2021 — University of Memphis President M. David Rudd has been appointed to the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Board of Directors. Representing the American Athletic Conference, Rudd is one of 24 members on the Board. His term expires in August 2025.

“I am extremely honored to be selected to the NCAA Division I Board of Directors,” said Rudd. “It is a credit to the continued momentum, growth and advancement of the University of Memphis in both academics and athletics nationally among our peers. I am looking forward to the next four years on this committee representing the University of Memphis and the AAC.”

The NCAA Division I Board of Directors is comprised of 20 presidents and chancellors – one from each of the 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences and 10 from the remaining 22 NCAA Football Championship Subdivision and Division I conferences – as well as one athletic director representative, senior woman administrator, faculty athletic representative and student-athlete.

The following committees report to the Division I Board of Directors: Division I Council, Committee on Infractions, Infractions Appeals Committee, Presidential Forum, Committee on Academics, NCAA Division I Board of Directors Finance Committee and the Board of Directors Infractions Process Committee.

Rudd’s two-year term on the NCAA Division I Presidential Forum Steering Committee ended this past August while his two-year term as chair of the American Athletic Conference’s Board of Directors concluded this past May.

The next NCAA Division I Board of Directors meeting will be virtually Oct. 27 from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. CT, at the NCAA Convention in Indianapolis Jan. 20, from 8 a.m.-noon, virtually April 27 11 a.m-2 p.m. and Aug. 3 10 a.m.-2 p.m. and at the NCAA National Office in Indianapolis Oct. 25-26, 2022.