Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award

The Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award is the highest distinction given to a faculty member by the University. The award is given annually to one (1) faculty member who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to scholarly-creative activity, teaching, and service, bringing honor and recognition to the University.

The award is given by the University of Memphis Board of Visitors and includes a $20,000 cash prize and a commemorative crystal.

A University committee composed of nine (9) faculty members will screen nominations and identify three (3) finalists. The recipient will then be chosen from among these finalists by a selection committee composed of three (3) members of the Board of Visitors. 

The award will be presented to the recipient at the Spring Faculty Awards luncheon.


How to Apply

Faculty eligible for the award must be active and continuously employed by the University for at least five (5) years. The award can only be given once to an individual.

Chairs of Excellence are not eligible.

A letter of nomination may be submitted by anyone familiar with the candidate's credentials.

A nomination remains active for five years unless withdrawn by the nominee.


How to Nominate

Nominations are accepted only by email. Please send nominations to provost@memphis.edu with "Sparks Eminent Faculty Award" in the subject line.

List of Recipients >