35th Annual Juried Student Exhibition

View Awards Winners

Award Winners / Installation Views

Selected by Virginia Overton & Jocko Weyland /  Curated by Jason Miller

President's Award 34th Annual Juried Student Exhibition went to Laura J. Lawson

Laura Lawson, Memphis, President's Award, 34th Annual Juried Student Exhibition

On view February 4th through March 10th

Opening reception, Sunday, February 4th, 3-6pm

 Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/751112765075712/

Congratulations to accepted entrants to the 35th Annual Juried Student Exhibition

Selected by Virginia Overton and Jocko Weyland

Aaron Binkowitz
Alexandra Barnett
Amber McCollum
Annalee M Elmore
Bailee Ross
Brittney Brockway
Davey Mann
Dedrick Ford
Denise Wakeman
Eleanor Engles Fisher
Elizabeth Rast
Ellen Dempsey
Emilio Norman
Emily Hogan
Emma Kuykendall
Ian McCaskill
Ivy-Jade Edwards
James W. Powell
Jeff Briscoe Carter
Jennalyn Krulish
Jesse DeLira
Jessica Williams
John Vincent Burrell
Jordan Gentry
Juan Rojo
Judith Dierkes
Julie Darling
Kaitlyn Dunn
Karsyn Laufenberg
Kathleen Stevens
Kayla Eddy
Kayla Owens
Ke'atric Reed
Keishawna Childs
Kelly Cook
Lacy Mitcham
Lea Holland
Lesley Diamond Bragdon
Lisa Lofton
Malik Muhammad
Mary Hendrix
Mason Nolen
Megan Dukes
Nicholas Svoboda
Paige Ellens
Richard L. Harper
Robert Samuel Fairchild IV
Samantha Hughes
Stephanie Curry
Tracy Treadwell
Whitney Gresham
Yvonne D. Gibbs

About the Jurors

Virginia Overton was born in Tennessee and currently lives and works in New York. She earned a BFA in 2002 and an MFA in 2005, both from the University of Memphis. Solo exhibitions have been presented at the Museum Of Contemporary Art Tucson, The Whitney Museum of American Art (New York), The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum (Ridgefield, CT), White Cube (London), All Rise (Seattle), Museum of Contemporary Art North Miami, Storm King Art Center (Mountainville, NY), Westfälischer Kunstverein (Münster, Germany), Kunsthalle Bern (Switzerland), Mitchell-Innes & Nash (New York), The Kitchen (New York), The Power Station (Dallas), Freymond-Guth Fine Arts Ltd. (Zürich, Switzerland), and Dispatch (New York). Recent group exhibitions and projects include MAY68 (New York), Maisterravalbuena (Lisbon, Portugal), Lever House (New York), The David Ireland House at 500 Capp Street (San Francisco), Institute of Contemporary Art (Philadelphia), Parcours (Basel, Switzerland), Contemporary Art Museum (St. Louis), High Line Art (New York), Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac (Paris), White Columns (New York), MoMA PS1 (New York), White Flag Projects (St. Louis), and Sculpture Center (New York). In the spring of 2018 her work will be presented in solo exhibitions at The Fogelman Galleries of Contemporary Art at the University of Memphis and Socrates Sculpture Park (New York), and through a record release with Future Audio Graphics.

Jocko Weyland was born in Helsinki, Finland and currently lives and works in New York. He received a BA from the University of California, San Diego. He is the author of The Answer is Never - A Skateboarder's History of the World (Grove Press, New York, 2002), The Powder, Danny's Lot, and Geomancy (Dashwood Books, New York, 2011, 2015, 2017), and the short story collection Eating Glass (1980 Editions, Paris, 2015). He started the serial publication Elk in 2003, which spawned Elk books and the eponymous Elk Gallery, where he organized sixteen shows between 2006 and 2011. From 2013 to 2017 he was the Chief Curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Tucson. He has had exhibitions at Ever Gold (San Francisco), Fake Space (Beijing, China), PG4S (Los Angeles), Martos Gallery (Los Angeles), Franklin Parrasch Gallery (New York) and Kerry Schuss Gallery (New York). Weyland is represented by Kerry Schuss Gallery.


About the Curator

Jason Miller is a contributor to Number: Inc Magazine and serves on its executive board of directors. He is an artist and curator based in Memphis, and serves as Museum Media Specialist at The Art Museum of the University of Memphis. Miller is known for his Circuitous Succession Series of contemporary art exhibitions held in Memphis between 2013-2018 and his work in founding Masonic Contemporary at the Memphis Scottish Rite Cathedral. He is the representative of The Richard Knowles Collection. Miller has public art at Gaisman Park and Overton Square in Memphis, TN. His work has been featured nationally in US museum and gallery exhibitions and in Seoul Korea's Photo + Magazine.


AWARDS (Winners to be announced at opening reception.)

$1000 University of Memphis President's Purchase Award

$1000 University of Memphis Graduate School Graduate Purchase Award

$500 ArtLab Installation Award, provided by Friends of the Art Museum

$300 Art Department Graduate Prize

$300 Art Department Undergraduate Prize

Four $100 Merchandise Certificates, provided by Art Center Supply Stores Inc.

Membership Prize, courtesy of Dixon Gallery & Gardens

Membership Prize, courtesy of Memphis Brooks Museum of Art

Membership Prize, courtesy of The Metal Museum



Sunday, December 17 11:59pm (deadline)

Last day to submit online entries

Friday, January 5

Notification of acceptance in the 35th Annual Juried Student Exhibition

Thursday, January 18, 7pm

Jurors' Lecture, open to the public, ACB Lecture Hall

Monday, January 8 through Friday, January 19

Accepted artworks delivered to AMUM 142 CFA Building, 9am-4:30pm each day

Sunday, February 4, 3:00pm-6:00pm

Opening Reception for 35th Annual Juried Student Exhibition, presentation of awards @4:30pm

Monday, March 12-March 16

Artists pick up work in AMUM 142 CFA Building, 9am-4:30pm each day