Dunavant University Professorships

Dunavant Professorships are endowed by a generous gift from William Dunavant in honor of Dr. Ralph Faudree who was dean of the college from 1995-2000. The College of Arts and Sciences awards one to four professorships annually. Awardees receive $5,000 per year for three years to support their research programs. Since 1999, over forty Dunavant Professorships have been awarded.

Consideration is given to insure equitable distribution among all of the disciplines and grand divisions (i.e., Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, and Humanities); however, outstanding achievement is the major consideration. Awardees are ineligible for re-consideration for a minimum of three years following expiration of the initial award.

Nominations are sought annually for tenured faculty who:

  • Demonstrate exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship, service, and outreach

  • Are associate or full professors

  • Have served as members of the University of Memphis faculty for a minimum of eight years

University of Memphis faculty members, department chairs, and administrators are eligible to make nominations. Nominations for Academic Year 2021-22 awards are due no later than April 30, 2021.

Please address nominating letters to:

Abby Parrill-Baker, Dean
College of Arts and Sciences or email Thomas Hopper at thopper1@memphis.edu
Scates Hall 107

Be sure and visit the College of Arts and Sciences Accolades Website for other award information.