general building

iHelp Advisory Committee

Steve West, former Chief Legal Officer of Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare ("MLH") and an early leader in the health law field, graciously served as Inaugural Board Chair, providing key support to foundational work. Robyn Diaz, Chief Legal Officer and Senior Vice President of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, took over the Chair role and has provided critical support for the Institute's growth. Board members have provided invaluable guidance on curricular matters, including the potential for online compliance training, assistance with networking, and support for students.


Chair - Robyn Diaz - Chief Legal Officer and Senior Vice President, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  • Steven J. Bares, Ph.D. – President and Executive Director, Memphis Bioworks Foundation
  • Denise D. Burke – Partner, Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis, LLP
  • Stuart Canale – Assistant United States Attorney, Chief, Civil Division, Western District of Tennessee
  • Gregory M. Duckett – Senior Vice President and Corporate Counsel, Baptist Memorial Health Care
  • Robert Gatewood – Assistant Shelby County Attorney, Shelby County Department of Health
  • Michael R. Hess – Member, Bass, Berry & Sims PLC
  • John I. Houseal, Jr. – Member, Glankler Brown, PLLC
  • Justin Hunter – Senior Vice President, Public Policy, Legislation and Regulations, HealthSouth (Washington, DC)
  • Andrew R. McCarroll – General Counsel and Principal, Southeastern Asset Management, Inc.
  • Richard F. Minicucci – Partner Emeritus, Nixon Peabody LLP (Long Island, NY)
  • Daniel Schaffzin – Director of Experiential Learning, University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
  • Katharine Traylor Schaffzin – Dean, University of Memphis School of Law
  • Walter E. Schuler – Associate General Counsel, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
  • Scott B. Shanker – Attorney, Butler Snow O'Mara Stevens & Cannada PLLC
  • Jeffrey L. Griffin – Member, Harris Shelton Hanover Walsh PLLC
  • Tara Shewchuk – Vice President and Deputy Chief Compliance Officer, Medtronic
  • Kurt W. Tauer, MD, FACP – Senior Partner and Chief of Staff, The West Clinic
  • Cristie Upshaw Travis – Chief Executive Officer, Memphis Business Group on Health
  • Buckner Wellford – Shareholder, Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC
  • Monica N. Wharton –Chief Legal Officer, Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare
  • Robert Q. Wilson – Senior Director, Legal, GTx
  • Dakasha Winton – Senior Vice President & Chief Government Relations Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Tennessee


  • Calvin Anderson – Retired, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Tennessee
  • Max Shelton – Member, Harris Shelton Hanover Walsh PLLC
  • W. Steven West – Of Counsel, Glankler Brown, PLLC