Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


BERT BURRASTON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2003), University of Oregon [2025]

ANGELA MADDEN, Associate Professor, PhD (1996) Indiana University of Pennsylvania [2020]

RANDOLPH T. DUPONT, Professor, PhD (1981), The University of Texas at Austin [2022]

SHELLEY KEITH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Emory University [2023]

K. B. TURNER, Associate Professor, PhD (1996), University of Nebraska-Lincoln [2023]

STEPHEN WATTS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of Georgia [2025]

JAMES C. MCCUTCHEON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013) University of Central Florida [2026]


AMAIA IRATZOQUI, Assistant Professor, PhD (2015), Florida State University 

AMANDA D. JOHNSON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010) Sam Houston State University 

LENARD WELLS, Instructor, PhD (2008), Cardinal Stritch University 


CLIFFORD T. FREEMAN, MA (1997), University of Memphis [2020]

SUSAN MCNEELEY, PhD (2013), University of Cincinnati [2022]


NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets for Full and External only.