School of Communication Sciences and Disorders

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


EUGENE H. BUDER, Associate Professor, PhD (1991), The University of Wisconsin, Madison [2024]

NAOMI EICHORN,  Associate Professor, PhD (2014), The Graduate Center of the City University of New York [2030]

LYNDA FEENAUGHTY, Associate Professor, PhD (2016), University at Buffalo [2029]

LINDA D. JARMULOWICZ, Associate Professor, PhD (2000), City University of New York [2026]

JANI JOHNSON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), The University of Memphis [2029]

LISA LUCKS MENDEL, Professor, PhD (1988), The University of California at Santa Barbara [2028]

MIRIAM VAN MERSBERGEN, Associate Professor, PhD (2005), University of Minnesota  [2029]

DEBORAH MONCRIEFF, Assistant Professor, PhD (1999) University of Texas at Dallas [2024]

D. KIMBROUGH OLLER, Professor, PhD (1971), The University of Texas Austin [2024]

SARAH WARREN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2017), University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences [2029]

RAGHAV JHA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2023), James Madison University [2029]

KELSEY MANKEL, Assistant Professor, PhD (2021), University of Memphis [2029]


 CASSANDRA BANKS, AuD (2009), University of Kansas

SHARON FAIRBANKS, MA (2012), University of Memphis 

VICKI HADDIX, MS (2003), Emerson College 

MATTHEW HOLLIS, AuD (2018), University of Memphis

JULIE SABLE MARSHALL, CCC-SLP, MA (1986), West Chester University 

MAURICE I. MENDEL, Professor, PhD (1970), The University of Wisconsin

JOCLAIRE MERRILL, MA (1999), University of Memphis

KATHERINE MENDEZ, MA (2013), University of Memphis

JOHN L. SANDIDGE, MA (1996), University of Memphis

ELLEN SMITH, PhD (2008), Salus University-George S. Osborne College of Audiology 

JENNIFER P. TAYLOR, AuD (2003), The University of Florida

MARILYN D. WARK, MA (1979), San Diego State University 

JUSTIN SPRINGS, MA, (2016) University of Memphis


TANJALA T. GIPSON, Assistant Professor, M.D. (2004) Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center [2026]

ULRIKE GRIEBEL, PhD (1996), University of Vienna [2024]

KAREN JARVIS, AuD (2005), University of Memphis [2023]

ROBERT YAWN, MD (2012), Medical University of South Carolina [2023]

LYN SIOBHAN TURKSTRA, PhD (1993), University of Arizona [2023]

EUN JIN PAEK, PhD (2017), Indiana University, Bloomington [2024]

LYDIA PERKINS, Masters (2012), University of Memphis [2024]

LORIE DISCHNER, MA (2003), University of Memphis [2024]

ANDREA MOORE, SLP.D. (2012), Nove Southeastern University [2024]

LINDSAY KEEGAN, MA (2004), University of Maine [2024]

RENE UTIANSKI,  PhD (2014), Arizonia State University [2025]

ADELE DUNKIN, MS (2013), Arkansas State University [2025]

GAVIN BIDELMAN, PhD (2011), Purdue Univeristy [2025]

KELSEY MANKEL, PhD (2021), University of Memphis [2025]

DANIELLE KEETON, MA (2000),  University of Memphis [2025]

LISA VINNEY, PhD (2013), Universtiy of Wisconsin [2025]

KAREN CROW, MA (2018), University of Memphis [2025]

KRISTIN SZYMANEK, MA (2012), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [2025]

TINA CHILDRESS, PhD (2016), A.T. Still-Arizona School of Medicine [2025]

CHAYA GUNTUPALLI, PhD (2013), University of Pittsburgh [2026]

MARIA DIETRICH, PhD (2009), University of Pittsburgh [2026]

ROSALBA COURTNEY, PhD (2011), Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology [2027]

 NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets for Full and External only.