Department of Communication & Film

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


ANTONIO DE VELASCO, Associate Professor, PhD (2005), Emory University [2029]

JOY GOLDSMITH, Professor, PhD (2004), University of Oklahoma [2025]

ANDRE E. JOHNSON, Professor, PhD (2008), University of Memphis [2021]

MARINA LEVINA, Professor, PhD (2006), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [2028]

CHRISTINA MOSS, Associate Professor, PhD (2005), Louisiana State University [2029]

CRAIG O. STEWART, Professor, PhD (2006), Carnegie Mellon University [2027]

AMANDA J. YOUNG, Associate Professor, PhD (2000), Carnegie Mellon University [2028]

WENDY ATKINS-SAYRE, Professor, PhD (2005), University of Georgia [2026]

DAVID GOODMAN, Associate Professor, MFA (2015), The University of North Texas [2026]


KELLIE CARSTENSEN, Assistant Professor, PhD, University of Colorado Boulder, Assistant Professor

DAVID GRAY MATTHEWS, Assistant Professor, PhD (1993), Pennsylvania State University

CHRISTINE NYAWAGA, Assistant Professor, PhD, Wayne State University (2023)

DAVID STEPHENS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2020), Bowling Green State University

ELJA ROY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2021),  University of Minnesota 


RONALD ROACH, PhD (2001), Regent University [2025]

 NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.