Department of Theatre and Dance

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


JACOB G. ALLEN, Professor, DMA (2023), The University of Memphis  [2026]

SARAH BROWN, Associate Professor, MFA (1994), Yale School of Drama [2023]

ANITA J. LENHART, Professor, MFA (1985), Florida State University [2022]

MICHAEL O'NELE, Associate Professor, MFA (1998), The University of Missouri-K.C. [2029]

ANTHONY S. PELLECCHIA, Assistant Professor, MFA (2009), The Ohio State University [2029]

MICHAEL MEDCALF, Associate Professor, MFA (2013), University of Iowa [2025]


HOLLY DERR, Assistant Professor, MFA (2002), Columbia University 

JILL G. NEE, Associate Professor, MFA (2014), The Ohio State University

JOHN YORKE, Assistant Professor of Teaching, MFA (1997), The University of Memphis 

TRACY THOMAS, Assistant Professor, MM (1993), University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

CHRISTIAN TRIPP, Assistant Professor, MFA (2021), University of Alabama 

ALEXANDRA KAY FILIPAVICH, Visiting Assistant Professor, MFA (2022), University of Memphis 


RICHARD C. MAYFIELD, MFA (1996), University of Tennessee [2020]

NATHAN THOMAS, MFA (1995), University of Cincinnati College Conservatory [2026]


 NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets for Full and External only.