Phi Alpha Honor Society

Phi Alpha Honor Society EmblemEpsilon Upsilon Chapter

"Through Knowledge - the Challenge to Serve"

The purpose of Phi Alpha Honor Society is to provide a closer bond among students of social work and promote humanitarian goals and ideals. Phi Alpha fosters high standards of education for social workers and invites into membership those who have attained excellence in scholarship and achievement in social work.

For more information contact:

Dr. Robin Lennon-Dearing:
Undergraduate and Graduate Faculty Advisor


Phi Alpha National Social Work Honor Society

An undergraduate student is eligible for active membership after achieving the following National minimum requirements and meeting local Chapter requirements:

  • Must be a declared social work major.
  • Must have achieved sophomore status.
  • Must have completed 9 semester hours of required social work courses.
  • Must have achieved an overall grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.
  • Must have achieved a 3.5 grade point average in required social work courses.

A graduate student is eligible for active membership after achieving the following National minimum requirements and meeting local Chapter requirements:

  • Must be currently enrolled in the graduate social work program.
  • Must be in their second year of social work graduate programming.
  • Must have completed 30 semester hours of required social work courses; Advanced Standing students must have completed 22 hours.
  • Must have achieved an overall grade point average of 3.85 (on a 4.0 scale).

Click here for information on scholarships, awards, competitions, and other opportunities for Phi Alpha members.

2018 Phi Alpha Officers

President - Jack Wyatt
Co-Vice-President - Kathryn Reed
Co-Vice-President - Jarricka Evans
Secretary/Treasurer - Tyler-Marie Blacher

2018 Phi Alpha Members

All 2018 New Phi Alpha Members


Artriel Brown
Ashlei Vester
Brandy N. Smith
Cassandra Ann Tucker
Christina Farrell
Cynthia Mason Riggins
Emma Eidson
Emonie Bright-House
James Villanueva
Jarricka Evans
Jermellody S. Seaton
Kirsten Carter
Kyo Woodson
Lorean Hearns
MarQuita M. Brown
Michael Hoots
Molly Floyd
Natasha Williams
Samantha Rayo Garcia
Sarah Hirons
Shalonda Love
Tyler-Marie Blacher
Willie Anne Wilkerson


Akosua Mintaa Aggrey-Bekoe
Amber D. Barksdale
Brianna Kathleen Wachter
Brittany diLayne Benson
Chelsey Spencer
Christie Walker
Clarice R. Burnett
CreShaunda T. Lynn
Jack Wyatt
Jamil Matthews
Jeremiah Cornelius Berry
Justin G. Price
Kathryn Reed
Kelly Lynn Frostbauer
Kendall Brown
Kerrie Cooper
Kiya Kendra Black
Lakita Brown
Marquita Harris
Pam Madison Wright
Rachel Marie Lang
Rodques K. Jones
Sarah Margaret Hairston
Vandra F. Parks

Honorary Members

Melissa Hirschi, PhD, LCSW
Sandra Allen, LAPSW


2017 Phi Alpha officers

2017 Phi Alpha Officers

President- Randi Kersey

Vice-President- Roshella Smith

Secretary- Alicia Danley

Treasurer- Courtney Smith

2017 New Members

2017 New Phi Alpha Members

I would like to invite everyone to join me in congratulating the newest members of Phi Alpha.

Alicia Nicole Danley
Alona C. Armour
Angelica L. Anderson
Chelsea Turner
Erica Jerianna Bowie
Hailey Elizabeth Levin
Haley Christine Greenwell
Janielle S. Pratcher
Julia Stotts
Kathryn A. Keiler
Kelli N. Holloway
Kimberly Phillips Stovall
Kristin Decker
Marquetta S. Johnson
Mattie L. Fly
Monique L. Nelson
Randi Kersey
Roshella A. Smith
Shatoyia Monique Stovall
Shea Wingate
Stephanie Michelle Perlman
Tanequa Danielle Small
Tiffany Burks
Tiffany L. Ellis
Yohana Temesghen

Brittany Kirk
Courtney Danielle Smith
Iris Reyes
Isabel Duarte Navarro
Jamie Bowers
Kelsey Elise Geary
Madison Michelle Wilson
Princess LaFaye McCormick-Lynch
Rebecca Marie Martin
Tanisha N. High
Trista Mariah Torres

Honorary Members
Steven Soifer, PhD, MSW
Inna Soifer, M.S., CHE

2016 Phi Alpha Officers

2016 phi alpha officers

Jessica Seebeck

Vice President
Lauren Reed

Shadeau Pellman

2016 New Members

2015 phi alpha members

I would like to invite everyone to join me in congratulating the newest members of Phi Alpha.


Ariel Iman Anderson
Cassandra Denton
Declan Michael Deely
Frances Cogdill
George R. Pugh
Hiliana Karen Duran Boiso
Jack Wyatt
Javonne Johns
Joyce Elaine Shells
Kaschunn Lasha Cowans
Kathryn Goforth
LaSonya Renee Taylor-Jeans
Randi Kersey
Randy Davis Lang
Raven B. Chadwick Ates
Samantha Nicole Early
Shaquita L. Whitley
Shea Nicole Foropoulos

Aisha Y. Higgins
Catherine Clubb-Brown
Chelsea Heard
DeAvila Bennett
Gina Marie Gaston
Janet Denise McClora
Jenifer Hoggan
Jessica Seebeck
LaKenya Humphrey
Latonya J. Harris
Lauren Elizabeth Reed
Roslyn Brewer
Sarah A. Newman
Shadeau Lea Pellman
Tammy Denise Ali-Carr
Victoria Maher

Honorary Members
David Jordan, MSSW
Jonathan Cole, MSSW

2015 PHI ALPHA Officers and New Members