Border County Tuition Waiver

The University of Memphis accommodates students from border counties in Arkansas and Mississippi with a waiver of the non-resident portion of regular tuition. Listed below are the eligible counties:


Crittenden County


DeSoto County
Marshall County
Tunica County
Tate County

Interested students from one of the eligible counties must meet the following qualifications to be eligible for the waiver. 

Eligibility Criteria for the Border County Tuition Waiver

  • Undergraduate students must be admitted into a degree-seeking program.
  • Admitted graduate students are not required to meet any additional academic criteria.
  • Graduate and Law students must provide documented proof of permanent residence in one of the eligible counties.
  • Graduate and Law students can receive the waiver as non-degree students.