X

Performance & Songwriting Faculty


blackRebecca Arendt 
Voice
rarendt@memphis.edu



CobbJoyce Cobb
Popular Music- Voice 
jcobb@memphis.edu



CooperJack Cooper 
Director of Jazz Studies 
jcooper1@memphis.edu



alvieAlvie Givhan 
Jazz Piano 
agivhan@memphis.edu



KalebKaleb Ritchie 
Commercial Bass 
kdgreene@memphis.edu



ShoupSam Shoup
Popular Music & Jazz 
Area Coordinator 
srshoup@memphis.edu


blankPatrick Sutton
Commercial Guitar 
psutton3@memphis.edu



paulinaPaulina Villarreal 
Voice, Popular Music 
pvllrral@memphis.edu




Recent Research & Creative Activity


2021

  • Sam Shoup wrote four string arrangements for the Macedonia Orchestra with St. Paul & the Broken Bones.
  • Sam Shoup composed six string arrangements for jazz pianist Eric Lewis’ new album.
  • Sam Shoup conducted the orchestra for Don Bryant’s One Night Only: Don Bryant & the Bo-Keys Live with Chamber Orchestra show at Crosstown Theatre.
  • Paulina Villarreal recorded a music video for a cover of Elton John's "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road" at one of Mexico's most important theaters, the Teatro Isauro Martinez. This was a collaboration with SABAG Producciones, an established recording studio to promote the theater and local artists in the COVID recovery era. 

2020

  • A premier performance of Sam Shoup’s own Symphony Pops show “In The Air Tonight: A Symphonic Tribute to the Music of Genesis and Phil Collins” was performed by the Philly Pops Orchestra at The Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts in Philadelphia.

2019

  • Sam Shoup composed three orchestral arrangements for Cyndi Lauper and Boy George for the New York Pops Orchestra. It was performed at their 36th Birthday Gala in Carnegie Hall, NYC.