X

Conducting Faculty


cathlina Dror Baitel
Visiting Professor Opera & Conducting 
dbaitel@memphis.edu



cathlinaFrancis Cathlina
Visiting Director of Choral Activities
Francis.Cathlina@memphis.edu



FelderHarvey Felder 
Director of Orchestral Activities
hfelder@memphis.edu



fisher Ryan Fisher
Music Education, Choral 
rfisher3@memphis.edu



Frizzell Emily Frizzell
Music Education, Choral 
Emily.Frizzell@memphis.edu



nguyenAlbert Nguyen 
Director of Bands 
Area Coordinator 
tnguyen6@memphis.edu


PlenkWill Plenk
Associate Director of Bands
wjplenk@memphis.edu



 


Recent Research & Creative Activity


2021

  • Albert Nguyen was invited to conduct the Kentucky Music Educators Association (KMEA) District 7 Bands (rescheduled for 2022).
  • Albert Nguyen was selected as a member of the search committee for the 13th President of the University of Memphis.
  • Will Plenk presented “Build Your Band – Shaping traditions and musical identity to energize band members and sports fans alike”  at the College Band Directors National Association Marching Band Symposium 2021. 
  • Ryan Fisher was invited to serve as an adjudicator of the Arkansas Choral Directors Association State Choral Performance Assessment. 

2020

  • Albert Nguyen was invited to conduct the South Carolina Band Directors Association All-State Band (rescheduled for 2022).
  • Albert Nguyen was invited as an adjudicator and clinician for the Purdue Fort Wayne Wind Festival (rescheduled for 2022).
  • Will Plenk presented a juried performance video presentation for the College Band Directors National Association Southeast Regional Conference 2020.
  • Ryan Fisher was invited to serve as an adjudicator of the Bluff City Choral Festival in Senatobia, MS. 

2019

  • Harvey Felder facilitated a collaboration between the University Symphony and the Collage Dance Collective on a production of Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake.
  • Albert Nugyen was invited to guest conduct the West Chester Symphonic Band in Terrytown, New York.
  • Albert Nugyen was awarded the university’s First Tennessee Professorship that recognizes faculty with significant outreach. 
  • Ryan Fisher was invited to serve as an adjudicator of the Jackson Choral Festival in Jackson, TN. 
  • Ryan Fisher was invited to conduct the Middle Tennessee Vocal Association Freshmen Mixed Chorus.