X

Vocal Arts Faculty


CobbRebecca Arendt  
Voice
rarendt@memphis.edu



baitelDror Baitel
Visiting Professor of Opera & Conducting
dbaitel@memphis.edu



beschChristopher Besch
Visiting Professor of Voice
cbesch@memphis.edu



cathlinaFrancis Cathlina
Visiting Director of Choral Activities 
Francis.Cathlina@memphis.edu



CobbJoyce Cobb 
Popular Music- Voice
jcobb@memphis.edu



fisherRyan Fisher 
Music Education, Choral
rfisher3@memphis.edu



FrizzellEmily Frizzell 
Music Education, Choral 
Emily.Frizzell@memphis.edu



rushingRandal Rushing 
Voice 
rrushing@memphis.edu



benBenjamin Smith 
Stage Director for Opera 
bwsmith7@memphis.edu



VillarrealPaulina Villarreal
Voice, Popular Music 
pvllrral@memphis.edu



wilsonMary Wilson
Voice
Area Coordinator 
mwlson19@memphis.edu



Recent Research & Creative Activity


2021

  • Mary Wilson was a soprano soloist for the Whitacre Five Hebrew Lovesongs, Sarasota Ballet.
  • Mary Wilson was awarded University Research Professorship “to acknowledge outstanding contributions to the University’s education, research, outreach and service missions.”

2020

  • Paulina Villarreal was appointed Young Singer's Program Director for the Hawaii Performing Arts Festival.
  • Mary Wilson performed as a soprano soloist for Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis with the  Colorado Symphony.
  • Paulina Villarreal organized and directed "Voces a la Distancia," Northern Mexico's first national virtual voice competition, a part of Cantos para Hermanar al Mundo concert series.
  • Mary Wilson performed as a soprano soloist for Mahler’s Symphony No. 4 with the Memphis Symphony Orchestra.

2019

  • Paulina Villarreal was a mezzo soloist for the world premiere of Mango Suite (Derek Bremel, composer/Sandra Cisneros, poet) with the Princeton Symphony Orchestra.
  • Paulina Vilarreal organized and directed "Cantos para Hermanar al Mundo" 4th concert edition and tour of Coahuila, Mexico.
  • Randal Rushing performed a solo recital, music of Ralph Vaughan Williams in London, United Kingdom, and Regensburg, Germany.
  • Benjamin Smith founded Memphis Light Opera and oversaw all aspects of its first production, “The Gondoliers.”
  • Mary Wilson was a soprano soloist for Bernstein’s Symphony No. 3 “Kaddish,” with the Nashville Symphony.
  • Benjamin Smith was the Stage Director for “Il tabarro” with the Mobile Opera.