X

School of Music Faculty 

Meet your mentors

Our faculty are internationally recognized for their talent and expertise. Many have toured around the globe, performed in some of the world’s most recognized venues, and published definitive texts in their fields.

They’re also dedicated educators who are committed to helping you reach your full potential. Explore our directory, and meet your mentors.


A  B  C  D  E  H  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

AfsharLily Afshar
Professor of Guitar
lafshar@memphis.edu



ArendtMarcin Arendt 
Assistant Professor of Violin
marendt@memphis.edu



AssadMichael Assad
Instructor of Percussion
massad@memphis.edu



BennettJames Bennett
Instructor of Audio Engineering
jlbennet@memphis.edu



BlatchfordElise Blatchford 
Associate Professor of Flute
e.blatchford@memphis.edu



brasselAlandis Brassel
Assistant Professor of Music Business
Area Coordinator of Music Business 
abrassel@memphis.edu


Matthew BurnsMatthew Burns
Assistant Professor of Voice
mburns5@memphis.edu



CathlinaFrancis Cathlina
Assistant Professor
Director of Choral Activities
Francis.Cathlina@memphis.edu


mahirMahir Cetiz
Assistant Professor of Composition + Theory
Area Coordinator of Composition & Music Theory
mcetiz@memphis.edu


blankKurt "KC" Clayton
Instructor of Music Industry
kclayto@memphis.edu



clineJeff Cline
Associate Professor of Audio Engineering
jwcline@memphis.edu



DetrisDatris Cobb
Professor of Practice for Commerical Voice
dmcobb@memphis.edu



CohranJeff Cohran
Instructor of Music Business
jccohran@memphis.edu



Jonathan ColbertJonathan Colbert
Instructor of Double Bass
jwclbert@memphis.edu



CooperJack Cooper
Professor of Jazz Studies
Director of Jazz Studies
Area Coordinator of Jazz Studies
jcooper1@memphis.edu

Zack CorpusZack Corpus
Professor of Practice for Tuba + Euphonium
zacorpus@memphis.edu



FelderHarvey Felder
Professor of Conducting
Director of Orchestral Activities
hfelder@memphis.edu


fisherRyan Fisher
Associate Dean, CCFA
Professor of Music Education, Choral
rfisher3@memphis.edu


Frazer Jon Frazer 
Associate Professor of Audio Engineering
Area Coordinator of Audio Engineering
jmfrazer@memphis.edu


Jeremiah FrederickJeremiah Frederick
Visiting Assistant Professor of Horn
jrfrdrck@memphis.edu



FrizzellEmily Frizzell
Assistant Professor of Music Education, Choral
Emily.Frizzell@memphis.edu



AlvieAlvie Givhan 
Instructor of Jazz Piano
agivhan@memphis.edu



HansonJosef Hanson
Assistant Professor for Music Education, Instrumental
Area Coordinator of Music Education
Assistant Director of Graduate Studies
Josef.Hanson@memphis.edu

inceKamran Ince
Professor of Composition
knince@memphis.edu



jonesRobyn Jones
Associate Professor of Clarinet
Associate Director for Student Services + Administration
rljnes12@memphis.edu


Stephen KarrStephen Karr
Opera Musical Director
sfkarr@memphis.edu



Ellen KozielEllen Koziel
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Education
ekoziel@memphis.edu



kenKenneth Kreitner 
Professor of Musicology 
Area Coordinator of Musicology 
kkreitnr@memphis.edu


blankSheryl Lane 
Instructor of Music Education, Strings + Piano
srlane@memphis.edu



ArtinaArtina McCain 
Assistant Professor of Piano
Area Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
ajmccain@memphis.edu


mcleanJenna McLean
Lecturer of Music + Entertainment, Lambuth Campus
jmclean2@memphis.edu



AlbertAlbert Nguyen
Associate Professor
Director of Bands 
Area Coordinator of Conducting 
tnguyen6@memphis.edu

JeremyJeremy Orosz
Associate Professor of Music Theory
Area Coordinator of Composition + Music Theory
jorosz@memphis.edu


janetJanet Page
Professor of Musicology
jpage2@memphis.edu



Michael ParsonsMichael Parson 
Director of SoundFuzion
mlparson@memphis.edu



kimKimberly Patterson 
Assistant Professor of Cello
Area Coordinator of Strings
kpttrsn5@memphis.edu


Jim PierceJim Pierce
Assistant Professor of Music Therapy
jwperce2@memphis.edu



willWill Plenk
Assistant Professor
Director of Athletic Bands
Associate Director for Academic Programs
wjplenk@memphis.edu

KevinKevin Richmond 
Associate Professor of Class Piano
kdrchmnd@memphis.edu



KalebKaleb Ritchie
Instructor of Commercial Bass
kdgreene@memphis.edu



Joel RobertsJoel Roberts
Assistant Professor; Music Librarian
jcrberts@memphis.edu



randyRandal Rushing 
Professor of Voice
rrushing@memphis.edu



KevinKevin Sanders
Director of the School of Music 
Kevin.Sanders@memphis.edu

 

lennyLenny Schranze 
Professor of Viola
lschranz@memphis.edu



Elisabeth ShaferElisabeth Shafer 
Visiting Assistant Professor of Trombone
elshafer@memphis.edu



billWilliam Shaltis 
Assistant Professor of Percussion
wmshltis@memphis.edu



TimTimothy Shiu 
Associate Professor of Violin
tshiu@memphis.edu



samSam Shoup 
Assistant Professor of Popular Music
Area Coordinator of Popular Music Performance
srshoup@memphis.edu


MichaelMichael Shults
Assistant Professor of Saxophone
mashults@memphis.edu



benBenjamin Smith 
Associate Professor
Stage Director for Opera
bwsmith7@memphis.edu


DavidDavid Spencer 
Associate Professor of Trumpet
Area Coordinator of Brass & Percussion
Faculty Fellow for Strategic Initiatives 
dspencer@memphis.edu

suttonPatrick Sutton 
Instructor of Guitar, Popular Music Performance, Lambuth Campus
psutton3@memphis.edu



jonJonathan Tsay 
Assistant Professor of Piano
jtsay@memphis.edu



JeremyJeremy Tubbs 
Instructor
Director of Music and Entertainment, Lambuth Campus
jtubbs@memphis.edu


MichelleMichelle Vigneau
Associate Professor of Oboe
mvigneau@memphis.edu



paulinaPaulina Villarreal 
Assistant Professor of Voice
pvllrral@memphis.edu



MaryMary Wilson 
Associate Professor of Voice
Area Coordinator of Vocal Arts
mwlson19@memphis.edu

 

Mark WoodringMark Woodring
Instructor of Trumpet
Area Coordinator of Vocal Arts
mdwdring@memphis.edu

 

DarynDaryn Zubke
Assistant Professor of Bassoon 
Area Coordinator of Woodwinds
dzubke@memphis.edu