Three academic departments make up the College of Education: Counseling, Educational Psychology and Research; Instruction and Curriculum Leadership;and Leadership. One department offers undergraduate degrees, and all departments offer a variety of graduate degree programs.

In addition, there are several research and service units in the college: The Office of Teacher Education, Advising and Student Services, The Center for the Study of Higher Education, The Reading Center, The Center for Research in Educational Policy,The Barbara K. Lipman Early Childhood School and Research Institute, and the University Campus School.