2019 Accolades

UofM Math Professor is First Woman to Receive Bellman Control Heritage Award in 40-Year History

August 2, 2019 - Dr. Irena Lasiecka, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Memphis, made history recently when she was awarded the 2019 Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award. Lasiecka is the first woman to receive the award in its 40-year existence.

The award, named after renowned mathematician Richard E Bellman, was established in 1979 by the American Automatic Control Council (AACC). Given for distinguished career contributions in theory or application of automatic control, it is considered the highest acknowledgement of professional achievement for U.S. control systems engineers and scientists. Lasiecka was recognized for her contributions to boundary control theory of distributed parameter systems. The AACC is a U.S. national member organization of the International Federation of Automatic Control.

Learn more >

UofM's Howell Receiving Prestigious Awards from Society of Clinical Psychology

Dr. Katie Howell, associate professor in the Department of Psychology and director of Child and Family Studies Research, is set to receive two prestigious awards this August. The Society of Clinical Psychology has announced Howell will be award the Theodore Blau Early Career Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Clinical Psychology. This award is presented for professional accomplishment and promise in Clinical Psychology.

Howell will also receive the Diane J. Willis Early Career Award. This award is named after Willis to honor her life-long advocacy on behalf of children and families. The award aims to advance public understanding of mental health and improve the well-being of children and families through policy and service. It also encourages promising early career psychologists to continue work in this area.

Please join us in congratulating Howell for this remarkable accomplishment, made all the more special by having two independent divisions of the American Psychology Association simultaneously recognizing her excellence in her scholarship.