Department of Political Science logo
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Political Science index

Welcome to the Department of Political Science at
The University of Memphis.

As an undergraduate, earning a Bachelor's Degree in Political Science can provide you with the intellectual tools necessary to understand various topics within the political arena, preparing you for a career in business, government, law, or a variety of other jobs that require an understanding of the political world.

For those already with an undergraduate degree, our M.A. program offers a more-advanced educational experience, providing students with the skills to be either professional political scientists or to seek career paths that place a premium on research skills.

Our website contains information about our programs, our faculty, our alumni, and some of the opportunities offered by a specialization in Political Science. If you need more information, or want to schedule an appointment to meet with someone about beginning studies in political science, please feel free to contact us by e-mail or by phone at 901.678.2395.



Several faculty members in the Political Science department have recently received awards. We congratulate all of the following on their accomplishments.

  • Dr. Matthias Kaelberer- University of Memphis Honors Program Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring Award


  • Dr. Nicole Detraz- Alumni Association Distinguished Teaching Award


  • Dr. Eric Groenendyk- College of Arts and Sciences Travel Enrichment Grant


Upcoming Events:

  • Fall 2014 schedule TBA


Town Hall

Mayor AC Wharton with Dr. Matthias Kaelberer and Dr. Rob Blanton (April 2013)




Dr. Kaelberer and Dr. Detraz in the dome of the German Parliament as part of the 2014 London-Berlin Study Abroad Program (May 2014)

Check out our Facebook page for more information and updates about the Department.
Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2014 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 8/20/14