Department of Sociology

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


WESLEY JAMES, Professor, PhD (2009), Mississippi State University [2027]

JOSEPH T. LARISCY, Associate Professor, PhD (2013), University of Texas at Austin [2025]

JENI LOFTUS, Associate Professor, PhD (2004), Indiana University [2025]

GRETCHEN PETERSON, Professor, PhD (2000), University of Arizona [2030]

CAROL RAMBO, Professor, PhD (1993), The University of Florida [2030]

JUNMIN WANG, Professor, PhD (2007), New York University [2027]

SUNAH LAYBOURN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2018) University of Maryland [2027]


SIMRANJIT STEEL, Assistant Professor, PhD (2020) Rice University 

ANTHONY STONE, Assistant Professor, PhD (2023) University of Cinncinnati 

JOANNA BOUDREAUX, Assistant Professor of Teaching, PhD (2022) University of Memphis



 NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets for Full and External only.