Department of Philosophy

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


REMY A. DEBES, Associate Professor, PhD (2006), University of Michigan [2024]

VERENA ERLENBUSCH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), University of Sussex [2021]

SHAUN GALLAGHER, Professor, PhD (1980), Bryn Mawr College [2026]

BILL LAWSON, Full Professor, PhD (1980), The University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill [2021]

MARY BETH MADER, Professor, PhD (1998), The University of Texas at Austin [2028]

MICHAEL MONAHAN, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign [2023]

THOMAS NENON, Professor, PhD (1983), The University of Freiburg, Germany [2025]

KAS SAGHAFI, Associate Professor, PhD (2002), DePaul University [2025]

DEBORAH P. TOLLEFSEN, Professor, PhD (2002), The Ohio State University [2026]

SOMOGY VARGA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), JWG University of Frankfurt [2025]

DANIEL SMITH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2018) The Pennsylvania State University


LUVELL ANDERSON, PhD (2011), Rutgers University

JAMES BAHOH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2016) Duquesne

DAVID GRAY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2008), Harvard University

GARRY L. HAGBERG, PhD (1982), University of Oregon

ERIK RIETVELD, PhD (2008), University of Amsterdam

TIMOTHY D. ROCHE, Associate Professor, PhD (1984), University of California at Davis

LINDSEY STEWART, Assistant Professor, PhD (2016), The University of Pennsylvania 


TALIA BETTCHER, PhD (1999) University of California, Los Angeles [2023]

STEPHAN BLATTI, Associate Professor, PhD (2008), University of Oxford [2021]

ALBERT NEWEN, PhD (1994), University of Bielefeld [2020]

PAUL TAYLOR, PhD (1997), Rutgers University [2023]

LEWIS GORDON, PhD (1993), Yale University [2023]

JON COGBURN, PhD (1999), The Ohio State University,  [2023]

JOEL KRUGER, PhD (2007), Purdue University, [2023] 

DRUCILLA CORNELL, J.D., (1981), UCLA Law School, [2023]

AILI BRESNAHAN, PhD (2012), Temple University, [2023] 

MICHAEL NAAS, Phd (1990), State University of New York at Stony Brook [2024]


NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.