Department of Mathematical Sciences

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


MANOHAR L. AGGARWAL, Instructor, PhD (1977), University of Delhi [2025]

GEORGE A. ANASTASSIOU, Professor, PhD (1984) University of Rochester [2026]

PAUL N. BALISTER, Professor, PhD (1992), University of Cambridge [2021]

BÉLA BOLLOBÁS, Professor and Hardin Chair in Combinatorics, PhD (1972), University of Cambridge, United Kingdom [2020]

MARIA FERNANDA BOTELHO, Professor, PhD (1988), The University of California-Berkley [2026]

DALE BOWMAN, Assistant Professor, PhD (1993), University of Memphis [2023]

JAMES T. CAMPBELL, Associate Professor, PhD (1984), The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill [2024]

HONGQIU CHEN, Associate Professor, PhD (1998), The University of Texas at Austin [2020]

SU CHEN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), Oklahoma State University [2025]

LIH-YUAN DENG, Professor, PhD (1984), University of Wisconsin-Madison [2025]

EBENEZER OLUSEGUN GEORGE, Professor, PhD (1977), The University of Rochester [2020]

GISELE RUIZ GOLDSTEIN, Professor, PhD (1986), Tulane University [2021]

JEROME A. GOLDSTEIN, Professor, PhD (1967), Carnegie Mellon University [2023]

DAVID J. GRYNKIEWICZ, Assistant Professor, PhD (2006), Caltech [2025]

JOHN HADDOCK, Professor, PhD (1970), Southern Illinois University [2024]

THOMAS C. HAGEN,  Professor, PhD (1998), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University [2028]

ANNA KAMINSKA, Professor, PhD (1986), A. Michiewicz University [2027]

ROBERT KOZMA, Professor, PhD (1992), Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands [2025]

IRENA LASIECKA, Distinguished Professor and Chair, PhD (1975), University of Warsaw [2026]

IMRE LEADER, Visiting Professor, PhD (1989), University of Cambridge [2020]

PEI-KEE LIN, Professor, PhD (1980), The Ohio State University [2021]

RANDALL MCCUTCHEON, Professor, PhD (1995), The Ohio State University [2023]

VLADIMIR NIKIFOROV, Professor, PhD (2004), Sofia State University, Bulgaria [2022]

ROBERTO TRIGGIANI, Distinguished University Professor, PhD (1973), University of Minnesota [2021]

MATE WIERDL, Professor, PhD (1989), The Ohio State University [2022]

ALISTAIR WINDSOR, Associate Professor, PhD (2002), The Pennsylvania State University [2026]

BENTUO ZHENG, Associate Professor, PhD (2007), Texas A&M University [2025]

BEN MCCARTY, Associate Professor, PhD (2012), Louisiana State University [2025]

CHING-CHI YANG, Assistant Professor, PhD (2019), The Pennsylvania State University [2028]

MOTOMI (TOMI) MORI, Endowed Chair, PhD (1989), University of Iowa [2028]

MAARTEN DE BOECK, Assistant Professor, (2014), Ghent University [2028]


TSZ HO CHAN, PhD, (2002), University of Michigan at Ann Arbor 

SCOTTY HOUSTON, PhD, (2017), University of Memphis 

MAJID NOROOZI, PhD, (2020), University of Central Florida 

LI TANG, PhD, (2012), Emory University , Atlanta, GA 

BARIS KOPRULUOGLU, PhD, (2020), Auburn University 


CHENG CHENG, PhD (1993), Texas A&M University [2020]

DAVID DWIGGINS, Instructor, PhD (1993), Southern Illinois University [2019]

JAMES NUTARO, PhD (2003), University of Arizona [2019]

SAUNAK SEN, PhD (1998), University of Chicago [2020]

ARASH SHABAN-NEJAD, PhD (2010), Concordia University, Canada [2020]

HUI ZHANG,Associate Professor, PhD (2010), University of Rochester [2021]

FRIDTJOF THOMAS, Associate Profession, PhD (2001), Stockholm University [2023]


NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets for Full and External only.