Department of Computer Science

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


DIPANKAR DASGUPTA, Professor, PhD (1994), The University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, United Kingdom [2023]

SCOTT D. FLEMING, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Michigan State University [2021]

STANLEY P. FRANKLIN, Professor, PhD (1963), University of California, Los Angeles [2020]

XING GAO, Assistant Professor, PhD (2018), The College of William and Mary [2025]

MAX GARZON, Professor, PhD (1984), The University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana [2020]

NIRMAN KUMAR, Assistant Professor, PhD (2014), University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign [2022}

SANTOSH KUMAR, Professor, PhD (2006), The Ohio State University [2021]

VINHTHUY PHAN, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), State University of New York at Stony Brook [2023]

VASILE RUS, Professor, PhD (2002), Southern Methodist University [2023]

SAJJAN G. SHIVA, Professor, PhD (1975), Auburn University [2020]

DEEPAK VENUGOPAL, Assistant Professor, University of Texas at Dallas [2021]

LAN WANG, Associate Professor, PhD (2004), University of California Los Angeles [2020]

THOMAS WATSON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of California, Berkeley [2022]

MYOUNGGYU WON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), Texas A&M University [2025]

KAN YANG, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), City University of Hong Kong [2024]

XIAOFEI ZHANG, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology [2025]



WILLIAM B. BAGGETT, PhD (1998), The University of Memphis [2023]



DANIEL SWEENEY, MS (1981), Carnegie Mellon University [2022]

FREDERICK SHELDON, Visiting Professor, PhD (1996) University of Texas at Arlington [2022]


EMERSON MURPHY-HILL, PhD (2009), Portland State University [2021]



FATIH SEN, PhD (2014), University of Arkansas at Little Rock [2019]

ZHUO LU, PhD (2013), North Carolina State University [2019]

JAMES YU, PhD (1987), MacMaster University. Ontario Canada [2021]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

*Adjunct teaching only status no longer requires the submission of the Graduate Faculty Status application.*