UofM Journalism Alumni Club Will Present Awards Oct. 14

September 3, 2015 - The University of Memphis Journalism Alumni Club will hold its Outstanding Alumni Awards dinner Wednesday, Oct. 14, at 7 p.m. at the UofM Holiday Inn.

The Charles E. Thornton Award will be presented to James Overstreet (BA '92), executive editor of The Memphis Daily News, and posthumously to Mike Pennington (BA '72), journalist and communications counselor with PenNotes LLC. Otis Sanford, Hardin Chair of Excellence in Economic and Managerial Journalism at the UofM and political commentator for WREG-TV, will receive the Herbert Lee Williams Award.

Amanda Mauck (BA '04), digital marketing manager for Le Bonheur Children's Hospital, will be recognized as Outstanding Young Alumna. Aidan Porter, a journalism student at the UofM, will be honored with the Emerging Young Journalist Award.

The cost is $60 per person or $500 for a table of 10. RSVP by Oct. 12 to semiller@memphis.edu or 901.678.3043.

Contact: Gabrielle Maxey