Introduction to Earth Sciences Graduate Programs

The Department of Earth Sciences offers one certificate and three graduate program options:

  • GIS Certificate: Requires completion of 12 credits hours.

  • Master of Arts in Earth Sciences: Non-thesis track that requires completion of a research project or internship and 36 credit hours.

  • Master of Science in Earth Sciences: Requires completion of a thesis and 32 credit hours. Concentrations are offered in Archaeology, Geography, Geology, and Interdisciplinary Studies.

  • Doctor of Philosophy in Earth Sciences: Requires completion of a dissertation and 72 total post-Baccalaureate credit hours.

Students interested in graduate studies with the Center for Earthquake Research and Information (CERI) should visit the CERI website.

Course Descriptions

Graduate Courses